

Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors

Hilda L. Solis First District Mark Ridley-Thomas Second District Sheila Kuehl Third District Don Knabe Fourth District Michael D. Antonovich Fifth District

Commissioners Chief Robert E. Barnes Los Angeles County Police Chiefs Assn. Mr. Frank Binch Public Member (4th District) Erick H. Cheung, M.D., Vice Chair Southern CA Psychiatric Society Robert Flashman, M.D. LA County Medical Association Mr. John Hisserich Public Member (3th District)

Clayton Kazan, M.D., Chair California Chapter-American College of Emergency Physicians (CAL-ACEP) Mr. James Lott, Psy.D. Public Member (2nd District) Mr. Robert Ower LA County Ambulance Association Margaret Peterson, Ph.D. Hospital Association of Southern CA Lt. Brian Bixler Peace Officers Association of LA County Paul Rodriguez, FF/Paramedic CA State Firefighters' Association Nerses Sanossian, MD, FAHA American Heart Association Western States Affiliate Carole A. Snyder, RN Emergency Nurses Association Mr. Colin Tudor League of Calif. Cities/LA County Div. Mr. Gary Washburn Public Member (5th District) Mr. Bernard S. Weintraub Southern California Public Health Assn. **Chief Dave White**

> VACANT Public Member (1st District) LA Surgical Society

LA Chapter-Fire Chiefs Association

Executive Director Cathy Chidester, Director, EMS Agency (562) 347-1604 <u>cchidester@dhs.lacounty.gov</u>

> Commission Liaison Marilyn Rideaux (323) 890-7392 mrideaux@dhs.lacounty.gov

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES COMMISSION

10100 Pioneer Boulevard, Suite 200, Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670 (562) 347-1604 FAX (562) 941-5835 http://ems.dhs.lacounty.gov

EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES COMMISSION AD HOC COMMITTEE ON PREHOSPITAL CARE OF BEHAVIORAL EMERGENCIES

AGENDA June 6, 2016 9:00 am to 11:00 am EMS Commission Conference Room Located on the First Floor EMS Agency Headquarters 10100 Pioneer Boulevard

This Ad Hoc Committee of the Commission is open to the public. You may address the Committee on any agenda item before or during consideration of that item, and on other items of interest, which are not on the agenda, but which are within the subject matter jurisdiction of the Commission. Public comment is limited to three (3) minutes and may be extended by the Chair, as time permits.

Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670

NOTE: Please SIGN IN if you would like to address the Committee.

- 1. Welcome and Self-Introductions
- 2. Final review and approval of the destination process maps
- 3. Review of Behavioral Signs and Symptoms/appropriate destination
- 4. Recommendations
- 5. Next steps



Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors

Hilda L. Solis First District Mark Ridley-Thomas Second District Sheila Kuehl Third District Don Knabe Fourth District Michael D. Antonovich Fifth District

Commissioners

Chief Robert E. Barnes Los Angeles County Police Chiefs Assn. Mr. Frank Binch Public Member (4th District) Erick H. Cheung, M.D., Vice Chair Southern CA Psychiatric Society Robert Flashman, M.D. LA County Medical Association Mr. John Hisserich Public Member (3rd District) Clayton Kazan, M.D., Chair California Chapter-American College of Emergency Physicians (CAL-ACEP) Mr. James Lott, Psy.D. Public Member (2nd District) Mr. Robert Ower LA County Ambulance Association Margaret Peterson, Ph.D. Hospital Association of Southern CA Lt. Brian Bixler Peace Officers Association of LA County Paul Rodriguez, FF/Paramedic CA State Firefighters' Association Nerses Sanossian, MD, FAHA American Heart Association Western States Affiliate Carole A. Snyder, RN Emergency Nurses Association Mr. Colin Tudor League of Calif. Cities/LA County Div. Mr. Gary Washburn Public Member (5th District) Mr. Bernard S. Weintraub Southern California Public Health Assn. **Chief Dave White** LA Chapter-Fire Chiefs Association

VACANT

Public Member (1st District) LA Surgical Society

Executive Director

Cathy Chidester, Director, EMS Agency (562) 347-1604 <u>cchidester@dhs.lacounty.gov</u>

> Commission Liaison Marilyn Rideaux (323) 890-7392 mrideaux@dhs.lacounty.gov

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES COMMISSION

10100 Pioneer Boulevard, Suite 200, Santa Fe Springs, CA 90670 (562) 347-1604 FAX (562) 941-5835 http://.ems.dhs.lacounty.gov/

AD HOC COMMITTEE ON PREHOSPITAL CARE OF BEHAVIORAL EMERGENCIES April 26, 2016

An ad hoc committee on Prehospital Care of Behavioral Emergencies was called to order on April 26, 2016 by Chairman, Clayton Kazan, M.D., at 9:15 AM. Introduction of those in attendance and two participants via web-conferencing.

Attending: Clayton Kazan, M.D. (EMSC), Erick Cheung, M.D. (EMSC), Frank Binch (EMSC), Roderick Shaner, M.D. (Mental Health), Irma Castaneda, Ph.D. (Mental Health), Luana Murphy (Exodus), Jaime Garcia (HASC), Rita Murray (NAMI), Kay Fruhwirth (EMS Agency), Marianne Gausche-Hill, M.D. (EMS Agency), Marilyn Rideaux (EMSC); Webconferencing: Rick Moreno (LAC Fire), Clayton Chau, M.D., Ph.D. (L.A. Care)

Dr. Cheung conducted a run through of the developed flow charts, EMS response to MHSA emergencies, Law Enforcement response to MHSA emergencies, followed by question and answer discussion. The Committee also reviewed a table on Destination for Patients with Acute Mental Health Complaints and a flow chart on ITUP BH Workgroup Pilot, Collaborative System Supports to Manage ED Utilization in Behavioral Health Emergencies.

Discussion:

Dispatch Protocol

Law enforcement's determination of need for medical evaluation in the field Stratifying patient destination from the field, with the potential for non-LPS designated facilities emergency departments not receiving 5150's. Default responder Authorizing detainment MET/PET/PMRT

Action items for next Ad Hoc meeting:

- Make adjustments to flow charts to depict as accurately as possible the current emergency response processes for MHSA emergencies, based on today's discussion, and review at next meeting
- Review Erick's draft flow chart that reflect potential or proposed future changes in the organization of the emergency response system for MHSA emergencies, and provide thoughts and additional changes creating vision for the future
- Identify a pathway for bridging our current system to a proposed future system

Adjournment

The Meeting was adjourned by Chairman Kazan at 11:10 AM. A meeting doodle will be set up to determine everyone's availability and determine a specific date and time of the next meeting.