

DRAFT STATEMENT OF PROCEEDINGS FOR THE MEETING OF THE OFFICE OF PREVENTION SERVICES TASK FORCE

**FRIDAY, APRIL 22, 2022** 

9:00 AM to 11:30 AM VIRTUAL MEETING

#### Below is the link to the full meeting recording:

# Meeting Recording

#### I. OPENING AND ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS

1. The meeting was called to order by Dr. D'Artagnan Scorza, Executive Director of Racial Equity, at 9:01AM.

Attachment(s): Main Meeting Slides

- 2. Mark Lee, Senior Analyst, Chief Executive Office Anti-Racism, Diversity, and Inclusion Initiative, provided instructional information and disclosures to attendees.
- 3. Dr. Scorza shared a land acknowledgment to acknowledge the ancestral land and peoples of Los Angeles County. He also provided a welcome and opening remarks.
- 4. Mark Lee conducted roll call.

**Present:** Vincent Holmes (as an alternate for Songhai Armstead), Meredith Berkson, Alain Datcher, Barbara Ferrer, Alicia L. Garoupa, Nina Park (as an alternate for Christina Ghaly), Tamara Hunter, Kelly LoBianco, Tracie Mann, Reid Meadows, Minsun Meeker, Carrie Miller, Angela Parks-Pyles, D'Artagnan Scorza (Chair), Kanchana Tate, Cheri Todoroff, Laura Trejo

Absent: Tyrone Howard, Antonia Jiménez

(Special Note: Some members or alternates arrived late and/or left the meeting early, thus some votes reflect absences. A quorum was present at all times.)

- 5. <u>Public Comment Period for Specific Agenda Items</u> Public Comments: None.
- 6. Review and action on the Draft Minutes of the Prevention Services Task Force Regular Meeting of March 3, 2022.

Attachment(s): March 3, 2022 Draft Minutes

Member Datcher moved for the task force to approve the minutes. Member Trejo seconded the motion. The minutes were approved by the following vote:

Yes: 12 – Meredith Berkson, Alain Datcher, Alicia L. Garoupa, Kelly LoBianco, Reid Meadows, Minsun Meeker, Carrie Miller, Angela Parks-Pyles, D'Artagnan Scorza (Chair), Kanchana Tate, Cheri Todoroff, Laura Trejo
No: 0
Abstain: 5 – Vincent Holmes (as an alternate for Songhai Armstead), Barbara

Ferrer, Nina Park (as an alternate for Christina Ghaly), Tamara Hunter, Tracie Mann

Absent: 2 – Tyrone Howard, Antonia Jiménez

## II. PRESENTATIONS AND DISCUSSIONS

7. Overview of Life Course Outcomes and Definitions of Prevention by Arnold Chandler, President, Forward Change Consulting, and Dr. D'Artagnan Scorza, followed by discussion and consideration of necessary actions. Arnold Chandler was unable to join due to technical difficulties and Dr. Scorza led the presentation and discussion.

Discussion: Members discussed the varying definitions and interventions relating to prevention across fields, including public health. Members emphasized the importance of looking at life course frameworks with a structural, systemic, and historical analysis, rather than blaming negative outcomes on individual behavior.

Attachment(s): Presentation Slides

8. The task force did not discuss County preventions programs and funding streams, opting to delay this topic to a later date.

## III. TASK FORCE CHARTER AND SUBJECT AREA TABLE FORMATION

9. Review of the Proposed Charter for the Prevention Services Task Force. Dr. Scorza provided a brief overview of the charter contents, including member and co-chair roles and responsibilities.

Attachment(s): Draft Charter for the Prevention Services Task Force

Members discussed the scope of the three subject area tables and made minor revisions to the charter text.

Member Meeker made a motion for the task force to approve the revised charter. Member Hunter seconded the motion. The charter was approved by the following vote:

Yes: 15 – Vincent Holmes (as an alternate for Songhai Armstead), Alain Datcher, Barbara Ferrer, Alicia L. Garoupa, Nina Park (as an alternate for Christina Ghaly), Tamara Hunter, Tracie Mann, Reid Meadows, Minsun Meeker, Carrie Miller, Angela Parks-Pyles, D'Artagnan Scorza (Chair), Kanchana Tate, Cheri Todoroff, Laura Trejo

No: 0 Abstain: 0 Absent: 4 – Meredith Berkson, Tyrone Howard, Antonia Jiménez, Kelly LoBianco

9. Nomination and election of the co-chairs leading each of the three subject area tables of the Task Force.

Member Parks-Pyle nominated Minsun Meeker to co-chair the Coordination & Integration table. Minsun Meeker accepted the nomination. Member Laura Trejo self-nominated herself to co-chair the Coordination & Integration with Minsun Meeker.

Member Ferrer made a motion to appoint Minsun Meeker as co-chair of the Coordination & Integration table. Member Todoroff seconded the motion. Minsun Meeker was appointed by the following vote:

Yes: 15 – Vincent Holmes (as an alternate for Songhai Armstead), Alain Datcher, Barbara Ferrer, Alicia L. Garoupa, Nina Park (as an alternate for Christina Ghaly), Tamara Hunter, Tracie Mann, Reid Meadows, Minsun Meeker, Carrie Miller, Angela Parks-Pyles, D'Artagnan Scorza (Chair), Kanchana Tate, Cheri Todoroff, Laura Trejo

**No:** 0

## Abstain: 0

Absent: 4 – Meredith Berkson, Tyrone Howard, Antonia Jiménez, Kelly LoBianco

Member Meeker made a motion to appoint Laura Trejo as co-chair of the Coordination & Integration table. Member Garoupa seconded the motion. Laura Trejo was appointed by the following vote:

Yes: 15 – Vincent Holmes (as an alternate for Songhai Armstead), Alain Datcher, Barbara Ferrer, Alicia L. Garoupa, Nina Park (as an alternate for Christina Ghaly), Tamara Hunter, Tracie Mann, Reid Meadows, Minsun Meeker, Carrie Miller, Angela Parks-Pyles, D'Artagnan Scorza (Chair), Kanchana Tate, Cheri Todoroff, Laura Trejo

```
No: 0
```

Abstain: 0

Absent: 4 – Meredith Berkson, Tyrone Howard, Antonia Jiménez, Kelly LoBianco

Chair Scorza nominated Tamara Hunter to co-chair the Addressing Disproportionality table. Tamara Hunter accepted the nomination. Member Garoupa made a motion to appoint Tamara Hunter as co-chair of the Addressing Disproportionality table. Member Datcher seconded the motion. Tamara Hunter was appointed by the following vote:

Yes: 15 – Vincent Holmes (as an alternate for Songhai Armstead), Alain Datcher, Barbara Ferrer, Alicia L. Garoupa, Nina Park (as an alternate for Christina Ghaly), Tamara Hunter, Tracie Mann, Reid Meadows, Minsun Meeker, Carrie Miller, Angela Parks-Pyles, D'Artagnan Scorza (Chair), Kanchana Tate, Cheri Todoroff, Laura Trejo

```
No: 0
```

```
Abstain: 0
```

**Absent:** 4 – Meredith Berkson, Tyrone Howard, Antonia Jiménez, Kelly LoBianco

Chair Scorza nominated Meredith Berkson to co-chair the Prevention Framework Alignment table. Meredith Berkson accepted the nomination. Member Trejo made a motion to appoint Meredith Berkson as co-chair of the Prevention Framework Alignment table. Member Mann seconded the motion. Meredith Berkson was appointed by the following vote:

Yes: 15 – Meredith Berkson, Alain Datcher, Barbara Ferrer, Alicia L. Garoupa, Nina Park (as an alternate for Christina Ghaly), Tamara Hunter, Tracie Mann, Reid Meadows, Minsun Meeker, Carrie Miller, Angela Parks-Pyles, D'Artagnan Scorza (Chair), Kanchana Tate, Cheri Todoroff, Laura Trejo

## **No:** 0

## Abstain: 0

- Absent: 4 Vincent Holmes (as an alternate for Songhai Armstead), Tyrone Howard, Antonia Jiménez, Kelly LoBianco
- (Note: Due to a scheduling conflict for Member Berkson, this nomination and election occurred after the General Public Comment section below but before meeting adjournment.)

In the absence of additional nominations, the task force agreed to continue discussion and confirmation of the remaining co-chair positions at the next monthly meeting.

#### IV. PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD AND CLOSING

- 10. <u>General Public Comments to Address Task Force-Related Subject Matters</u> Public Comment: None
- 11. The meeting was adjourned at 11:09 A.M.

The next meeting is scheduled for Friday, May 20, 2022, at 9:00 A.M., and the full upcoming schedule can be found on the task force website at: <u>https://ceo.lacounty.gov/ardi/prevention-taskforce/</u>