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Introduction

. Prior to LPS - insufficient standards for who

could be placed involuntarily into the

hospital or for how long

- Criminals had more due process rights than
mental health patients

- No rights once hospitalized




Lanterman-Petris-Short Act
(passes 1969)

Purpose: To end the inappropriate, indefinite,
and involuntary commitment of mentally
disordered persons, developmentally disabled
and persons impaired by chronic alcoholism,
orompt evaluation, to guarantee and protect
oublic safety, safeguard individual rights
arough judicial review (WIC 5000).




Legal Nuts and Bolts

\ Patients

Constitutional




What is an application for involuntary
admission (72 hour Hold)?

5150 is an application for involuntary admission, not an

admission form. It gets the individual to the door, then
the “professional person in charge of the facility or his
or her designee shall assess the individual in person to
determine the appropriateness of the Involuntary
detention” (face to face assessment) (WIC 5151).




Who can initiate an application for
involuntary admission (72 hour hold)?

- Peace officer (includes sheriffs, State Park Rangers,
State University Peace Officers, parole or probation
officer)

- Member of attending staff* of an evaluation facility
authorized by the County

= “Attending Staft” — responsible for the care and treatment of patients
- Any professional person authorized by the County
(WIC 5150).




Persons Authorized to Initiate
Involuntary LPS Detention

LA County DMH Policy 307.01

3.1.1 Aperson licensed in a mental health discipline by
the State of California, who is on the psychiatric
professional staff of a LPS designated facility or who has
completed or is enrolled in an approved psychiatric
residency training program in a LPS designated facility
In Los Angeles County

3.1.2 Aperson licensed as a mental health professional
by the State of California, or license-waivered, who Is

TR ed by LACDMH or a LACDMH contract agency
A




Liability

- If the probable cause is based on the statement of a
person other than the officer, member of the attending
staff, or professional person, such person shall be
liable in a civil action for intentionally giving a
statement which he or she knows is false (WIC 5150).

- Shall not be held civilly or criminally liable for any
action by a person released before the end of the 72
hours (WIC 5154).




Where are 72-hour Applications
written to?

- LA County does not hospitalize for chronic alcoholism;
It has not designated any hospitals for that purpose

= Private authorized person to own hospital only;
authorizations are non transferable

» County or County-contracted person - to any designated
facility

- County team prevails over private team

« Location limitations: County of LA only

» 5150s can be written on inpatient medical units
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Emergency Room Hours
January 1, 2008 — 24 Hours

e Alicensed general acute care hospital, licensed psychologist, physician or
surgeon can detain a person for up to 24 hours who presents as a danger to self,
others or is gravely disabled as a result of a mental health disorder. All time must
be accounted for. (Health and Safety Code 1799.111)

e Senate Bill 916: States that as of Jan 1, 2008, immunity for non-designated acute
care hospitals will be extended up to 24 hours. All of the following must be met:

1. The person cannot be released because they meet 5150 criteria
2. Staff has made and documented efforts to find appropriate Tx
3. The person is not detained beyond 24 hours

4.  Probable cause exists for detention

-authorized staff immunity for releasing patients who no longer meet criteria

AN \!
\ \
A \
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Why is a 72-hour Application written?

"When any person, as a result of mental health
disorder, is a danger to others, or to himself or herself,
or gravely disabled, a [authorized person] may upon
probable cause, take, or cause to be taken, the person
Into custody and place him or her in a facility designated
by the county and approved by the State Department of
Mental Health as a facility for 72 hour evaluation.

(WIC 5150)
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Why is a 72-hour Application written?
(continued)

. Criteria must be linked to a mental health disorder.

- Mental health disorder Is not defined by law and the

Initiator Is not required to make a medical diagnosis of
mental health disorder.

- Initiator should articulate behavioral symptoms of
mental health disorder either temporary or prolonged

(All of the above are based on People v Triplett.)
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Why is a 72-hour Application written?
(cont.)

« The LPS Act does not provide a definition of probable
cause, so we look to case law for the answer.

- Probable Cause — a definition based on case law
(People v. Triplett). The case law contains a working
guideline to decide If probable cause exists.

» The case indicates a lay decision not a clinical one.
The decision does not require a medical diagnosis.

AN \!
\ \
A \
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People v. Triplet
144 Cal.app.3d 283 (1983)

- “To constitute probable cause to detain a person
pursuant to California Welfare & Institution Code
§ 5150, a state of facts must be known that would
ead a person of ordinary care and prudence to
pelieve, or to entertain a strong suspicion, that the
person detained is mentally disordered and is a
danger to himself or to others or is gravely
disabled.”

- “In justifying a particular detention, the officer must
be able to point to specific and articulable facts
which, taken together with rational inferences from
those facts, reasonably warrant his/her belief or
suspicion.”
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Criteria Definition

» Gravely disabled adult - a condition in which a
person, as a result of a mental health disorder (rather
than a chosen life style or lack of funds) is unable to
provide for his or her basic personal needs for food,
clothing or shelter (WIC 5008). The threat to harm
oneself may be through neglect or inability to care for
oneself (Doremus v Ferrell).

- If a person can survive safely in freedom with the
help of willing and responsible family members,
friends or third parties, then he or she is not
considered gravely disabled.
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Indications of Grave Disability
FOOD

- Cannot distinguish between food & non-food
- Eats food not fit for human consumption

- Endangers health by gross negligence in diet &
nutrition

- Is dehydrated or malnourished
. States intentions not to eat

- Demonstrates excessive & constant food preferences
or aversions -except for genuine religious reasons -
which endanger health
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Indications of Grave Disability
CLOTHING

- Engages in public nudity or inadvertent exhibitions

- Wears filthy or grossly torn clothing unsuitable to the
climate possibly jeopardizing health

- Repeatedly destroys clothing
- Has no realistic plans for obtaining clothing

Note: A person's predilection for unconventional dress,
whether due to cultural or personal preference, does
not by itself indicate an inability to provide clothing
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Indications of Grave Disability
SHELTER

- Is unable to locate housing and make appropriate
arrangements or accept assistance by others to do so

- Is unable to manage own, household in such a way to

avolid clear dangers to health
- Has no realistic plans for obtaining suitable shelter

Note: A transient lifestyle and or lack of shelter may be
due to personal preference or poverty.

Remember that the inability to provide shelter must be the
result of a mental health disorder in order to justify
Involuntary detention.
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Criteria Definition

- Gravely disabled minor definition — as a result of a
mental health disorder is unable to use the elements
of life which are essential to health, safety and
development, including food, clothing, shelter, even
thou§h5prowded to the minor by others. (WIC
5585.25)

- Minors should only be admitted for treatment when
Wrental authorization for treatment is not available.
When any minor, as a result of mental health disorder,
is a danger to others, or to himself or herself, or

ravely disabled and authorization for voluntary
reatment is not available, an Lauthorlzed personj
may, upon probable cause, take, or cause to be
taken, the minor into custody... (WIC 5585.50).
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Criteria Definition

Dangerous to self can be manifested by threats

or actions indicating the

Intent to commit

suicide or inflict serious bodily harm on

oneself, or actions whic

n place the person in

serious physical jeoparc

due to a mental health d

y, If these actions are

Isorder.
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Criteria Definition

Dangerous to others can be manifested by
words or actions indicating a serious intent to
cause bodily harm to another person due to a
mental health disorder. If the dangerous to
others findings 1s based on the person’s threats
rather than acts, the evaluator must believe it is
likely that the person will carry out the threats.
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Duty To Warn and Protect
(The California Tarasoff Statute)

A psychotherapist has a duty to warn and
attempt to protect any reasonably identifiable
victim or victims of a serious threat
communicated to the psychotherapist by a client.

« “The duty shall be discharged by the
psychotherapist, making reasonable efforts to
communicate the threat to the victim or victims

and to a law enforcement agency.”
(Civil Code 43.92)
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Duty to Warn and Protect

(continued)

In 2004 the Court of Appeals expanded the therapist’s
duty to warn to include instances when a member of a
client’s immediate family advises the therapist, for
purposes of advancing the client’s treatment, that the
client has communicated a serious threat of physical
violence against a reasonably identifiable victim or
victims.

Ewing v. Goldstein, 120 Cal. App.4" 807

(Cal. Ct. App. 2004)
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DMH Policy 202.2 — Duty To Warn and Protect
Third Parties in Response to a Client Threat

4.1 When a client, a member of the client’s
Immediate family member, or other credible informant,
whether during some initial contact or during the
course of service, communicates to any staff of a DMH
program that the client has made a serious threat of
physical violence against a reasonably identifiable
victim or victims, then actions pursuant to the Civic
Code and Tarasoff decision must be implemented in
order to protect the third party. Only the minimum
amount of information necessary to protect the
Intended victim or victims shall be released.
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Criteria Definition

Mental retardation, epilepsy, or other
developmental disabilities, alcoholism, other
drug abuse, or repeated antisocial behavior do
not, by themselves, constitute a mental health

disorder. (WIC 5585.25)
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Historical Course

“any person

who is authorized to take that person or

cause a person to be taken, into custody pursuant to
that section shall consider available relevant

information
mental healt
determines t

about the historical course of the person s
n disorder if the authorized person
nat the information has a reasonable

bearing on t
IS danger to

ne determination as to whether the person
others, or to himself or herself, or Is

oravely disabled due to a mental health disorder”
VITS5%aQ.05
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REPORTING

- Adult/Elder Abuse (WIC 15630)

- Dependent adult - Any person residing in this state
between the ages of 18 and 64, who has physical or
mental limitations that restrict his or her ability to
carry out normal activities or to protect his or her
rights including, but not limited to, persons who
have physical or developmental disabilities or
whose physical or mental abilities have diminished
because of age.

- Mandated reporters shall complete reporting form
for each report of a known or suspected instance of
abuse (physical, sexual, financial, neglect, isolation
and abandonment) involving an elder or dependent

adult.




Duty To Report to Community Care Licensing
Unsafe Conditions in Residential Facilities

- Reportable incidents include, but are not limited to all of
the following: incidents of physical abuse; any violation
of personal rights; any situation in which a facility is
unclean, unsafe, unsanitary, or in poor condition; any
situation in which a facility has insufficient personnel or
Incompetent personnel on duty:.

(Penal Code 11164 & Wklfare and Institutions Code 15630)

- If the evaluator knows, or reasonably suspects, that a
facility which is not exempt from licensing is operating
without a license shall report the name and address of the

facility to the appropriate licensing agency.

icalth and Safety Code 1536.1)

A




Memoranda of Understanding

= Due to deaths and other abuses that have occurred In
client residences in the last nine years, Los Angeles
C(_)untY has put In place a Memorandum of Understandin
with eleven county agencies to track and prevent abuse o
mentally disabledresidents living in group homes.

= Together, the county agencies developed a formal
protocol to address shared monitoring and reporting
responsibilities.

- As a mandated reporter, the LPS authorized individual
must report any suspected abuse to the appropriate
agency, I.e.: the Department of Children and amllg/
Services (DCFS) or Adult Protective Services (APS).
(Health and Safety Code 1566.75)
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Los Angeles County Department of Mental Health — MH 302 NCR
State of California
Health and Human Services Agency

Department of Health Care Services

APPLICATION FOR ASSESSMENT, EVALUATION, AND
CRISIS INTERVENTION OR PLACEMENT FOR
EVALUATION AND TREATMENT

Confidential Client/Patient Information
See Califormia W& Code Section 5328 and HIPAA Privacy Rule
45 C.F.R § 164.508

Welfare and Institutions Code (W&I Code), Section 5150(f)
and (g}, require that each person, when first detained for
psychiatric evaluation, be given certain specific information orally
and a record be kept of the advisement by the evaluating facility.

[ : |0 Advisement Complete O Advisement Incomplete

Good Cause for Incomplete Advisement:

[:]

DETAINMENT ADVISEMENT E
My name is
| am a (peace officer’mental health
professional) with (name of agency).

You are not under criminal arrest, but |
am taking you for examination by
mental health professionals at (name of
facility).

You will be told your rights by the
mental health staff.

If taken into custody at his or her
residence, the person shall also be
told the following information:

You may bring a few personal items
with you, which | will have to approve.
Please inform me if you need
assistance turning off any appliance or
water. You may make a phone call and
leave a note to tell your frends or family
where you have been taken.

Advisement Completed By: Position:

Language or Modality Used: Date of Advisement:

To (name of 5150 designated facility):

Application i reby made for the assessment and evaluation of | =

residing at |_*=

. Califormia, for up to 72- hour

assessment, evaluation and crisis intervention or placement for evaluation and treatment at a designated
facility pursuant to Section 5150, et seq. (adult) or Section 55685 et seq. (minor), of the W&l Code. If a minor,
authornzation for voluntary treatment i1s not available and to the best of my knowledge, the legally responsible
party appears to be / is: (Check one): [ Parent; [ Legal Guardian; [ Conservator;

O Juvenile Court under W&I Code 300; [ Juvenile Court under W&I Code 601/602. E

If known, provide names, address and telephone numbers in area provided below:

The above person’s condition was called to my attention under the following circumstances:

=

| have probable cause to believe that the person is, as a result of a mental health disorder, a danger to others,
or to himself! herself, or gravely disabled because: (state specific facts):

{CONTINUED ON NEXT PAGE)

Reference: DHCS 1801 (04/18)

8/7/2018

Original Applicstion: Accompany Client to Assessment, Evaluation, and Crisis Intereention Location or 515075585 Designsted Facility Page 1 of 4
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Los Angeles County Department of Mental Health — MH 302 NCR
State of California Department of Health Care Services
Health and Human Services Agency

CLIENT NAME:

APPLICATION FOR 72 HOUR DETENTION FOR EVALUATION AND TREATMENT
(CONTINUED)

Historical course of the person’s mental disorder:
E [T I have considerad the historical course of the person’s mental disorder: [Includes evidence presented
by service/support provider, family member(s), and person subject to probable cause determination or

designee.]
& O reasona anng on determination —_ Mo information availlable
CON ble beari d i ] 1 No infi i ilabl
Advisee’s Name Address Phone Number Relation
vsa

Based upon the above information, there is probable cause to believe that said person is, as a result of mental
health disorder:
[ = ] O A danger to himself { herself. [ Gravely disabled adult.

O A danger to others. [ Gravely disabled minor.

[ = |Minors only: (0 Based upen the above information, it appears that there is probable cause to believe that
authonzation for voluntary treatment is not available.

Signature, title and badge number of peace officer, professional person in charge of the facility designated by
the county for evaluation and treatment, member of the attending staff, designated members of a mobile cnsis
team, or professional person designated by the county.

Crate: a Phome: =
X[ = Badge/ID # [=] — =
MName of Law Enforcement Agency or Evaluation Address of Law Enforcement jency or For pabents in
FacilityPerson: Ewaluation Facility/Person: ﬁl g::g:_ﬁ?;fg:éan_
[ ] .
Tene:
NOTIFICATIONS TO BE PROVIDED TO LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY E

Motify (officerfiunit & telephone #):

NOTIFICATION OF PERSON'S RELEASE IS REQUESTED BY THE REFERRING PEACE OFFICER
BECAUSE:

The person has been referred to the facility under circumstances which, based upon an allegation of facts
regarding actions witnessed by the officer or another person, would support the filing of a ciminal complaint.
[ Weapon was confiscated pursuant to Section 8102 W&I Code. Upon release, facility is required to provide
notice to the person regarding the procedure to obtain return of any confiscated firearm pursuant to Section
8102 W&l Code.

SEE SUBSEQUENT PAGES FOR DEFINITIONS AND REFERENCES

Reference: DHCS 12801 (04/18) 87,2018
Original Application: Accompany Client to Assessment, Evaluation, and Crisis Intervention Location or 5150/5585 Designated Facility Page 2 of 4

32



Los Angeles County Department of Mental Health — MH 302 NCR
State of California Department of Health Care Services
Health and Human Services Agency

DEFINITIONS AND REFERENCES

“Gravely Disabled” means a condition in which a person, as a result of a mental disorder, is unable to provide
for his or her basic personal needs for food, clothing and shelter. SECTION 5008(h) W& Code

“Gravely Disabled Minor” means a minor who, as a result of a mental disorder, i1s unable to use the elements
of life which are essential to health, safety, and development, including food, clothing, and shelter, even though
provided to the minor by others. Intellectual disability, epilepsy, or other developmental disabilities, alcoholism,
other drug abuse, or repeated antisocial behavior do not, by themselves, constitute a mental disorder.
SECTION 5585 25 W& Code

“Peace officer” means a duly swom peace officer as that term is defined in Chapter 4 5 (commencing with
Section 3320) of Title 3 of Part 2 of the Penal Code who has completed the basic training course established by
the Commission on Peacse Officer Standards and Training, or any parole officer or probation officer specified in
Section 330.5 of the Penal Code when acting in relation to cases for which he or she has a legally mandated
responsibility. SECTION 5008(i) W& Code

Section 5152.1 W&I Code: The professional person in charge of the facility providing 7¥2-hour evaluation and
treatment, or his or her designee, shall notify the county mental health director or the director's designee and
the peace officer who makes the written application pursuant to Section 5150 or a person who is designated by
the law enforcement agency that employs the peace officer, when the person has been released after 72- hour
detention, when the person is not detained, or when the person is released before the full peried of allowable
T2-hour detention if all of the conditions apply:

(a) The peace officer requests such notification at the time he or she makes the application and the peace
officer certifies at that time in writing that the person has been referrad to the facility under circumstances
which, based upon an allegation of facts regarding actions witnessed by the officer or another person,
would support the filing of a ciminal complaint.

() The notice is limited to the person’s name, address, date of admission for 72-hour evaluation and
treatment, and date of release.

If a police officer, law enforcement agency, or designee of the law enforcement agency, possesses any record
of information obtained pursuant to the notification requirements of this section, the officer, agency, or
designee shall destroy that record two years after receipt of notification.

Section 5150.05 WE&I Code:

(a) When determining if probable cause exists to take a person into custody, or cause a person to be taken
into custody, pursuant to Section 5150, any person who is authorized to take that person, or cause that
person to be taken, into custody pursuant to that section shall consider available relevant information
about the historical course of the person’s mental disorder if the authonzed person determines that the
information has a reasonable bearing on the determination as to whether the person is a danger to
others, or to himself or herself, or is gravely disabled as a result of the mental disorder.

(b) For purposes of this section, "information about the histonical course of the person’s mental disorder”
includes evidence presented by the person who has provided or is providing mental health or related
support services to the person subject to a determination described in subdivision (a), evidence
presented by one or more members of the family of that person, and evidence presented by the person
subject to a determination described in subdivision (a) or anyone designated by that person.

(c) If the probable cause in subdivision (a) is based on the statement of a person other than the one
authorized to take the person into custody pursuant to Section 5150, a member of the attending staff, or
a professicnal person, the person making the statement shall be liable in a civil action for intentionally
giving any statement that he or she knows to be false.

(d) This section shall not be applied to limit the application of Section 5328,

Reference: DHCS 1801 (04/18) 8/7/2018
Original Application: Accompany Client to Assessment, Evaluation, and Crisis Intervention Location or S1530/55E5 Designated Fadlity Page 3 of 4
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Los Angeles County Department of Mental Health — MH 302 NCR

State of California Department of Health Care Services
Health and Human Services Agency

DEFINITIONS AND REFERENCES (CONTINUED)

Section 5152.2 W&I Code: Each law enforcement agency within a county shall arrange with the county
mental health director a method for giving prompt notification to peace officer pursuant to Section 5152.1 W&I
Code.

Section 5585.50 W&I Code: The facility shall make every effort to notify the minor's parent or legal guardian
as soon as possible after the minor is detained. Secfion 5585.50 W& Code.

A minor under the jurisdiction of the Juvenile Court under Section 300 W&l Code is due to abuse, neglect, or
exploitation.

A minor under the junsdiction of the Juvenile Court under Section 601 W&l Code is due to being adjudged a
ward of the court as a result of being out of parental control.

A minor under the junsdiction of the Juvenile Court under Section 602 W&l Code is due to being adjudged a
ward of the court because of cnmes committed.

Section 8102 W&I Code (EXCERPTS FROM):

(a) Whenever a person who has been detained or apprehended for examination of his or her mental
condition or who is a person described in Section 8100 or 5103, 1s found to own, have in his or her
possession or under his or her control, any firearm whatsoever, or any other deadly weapon, the firearm
or other deadly weapon shall be confiscated by any law enforcement agency or peace officer, who shall
retain custody of the firearm or other deadly weapon. “Deadly weapon,” as used in this section, has the
meaning prescribed by Section 8100.

() (1) Upon confiscation of any firearm or other deadly weapon from a person who has been detained or
apprehended for examination of his or her mental condition, the peace officer or law enforcement
agency shall issue a recsipt describing the deadly weapon or any firearm and listing any senal
number or other identification on the firearm and shall notify the person of the procedure for the
return, sale, transfer, or destruction of any firearm or other deadly weapon which has been
confiscated. A peace officer or law enforcement agency that provides the receipt and notification
described in Section 33800 of the Penal Code satisfies the receipt and notice requirements.

(2) I the person is released, the professional person in charge of the facility, or his or her designee, shall
notify the person of the procedure for the return of any firearmm or other deadly weapon which may
have been confiscated.

(2) Health faciity personnel shall notify the confiscating law enforcement agency upon release of the
detained person, and shall make a notation to the effect that the facility provided the required notice
to the person regarding the procedure to abtain return of any confiscated firearm.

Health and Safety Code 1799.111 (e}

A person detained under this section in a medical emergency room shall be credited for the time detained, up
to twenty-four hours, in the event he or she is placed on a subsequent 72-hour hold pursuant to Section 5150
of the Welfare and Institutions Code.

Reference: DHCS 1801 (04/18) 8/ 72018
Original &pplication: Accompany Client to Assessment, Evaluation, and Crisis Intervention Location or 3130/5585 Designated Fadlity FPage 4 of 4




Key Points When Completing an Application
for 72-Hour Detention

- Please write/print legibly!

- Oral Advisement (completed in language the patient
understands) iIs ALWAY'S required. Patient has the right to
know where they are goln%; ocument the name of the
accepting LPS facility in the top right hand box on the
application.

- This includes the patients right to make a phone call or
leave a note and their right to bring a few belongings which
may be approved by the evaluator.

. Safeguarding the personal ﬁossessi_ons being transported
with the patient or left on the premises occupied by the
patient, including pets, is also important.
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Key Points cont.

- Insure the patients safety until transported to the
accepting LPS facility.

- Other important responsibilities — Reporting to
agencies If abuse or neglect Is detected; Duty to Warn

when required.

- Check appropriate boxes/provide information when
Notify Law Enforcement is requested/indicated.

- Timeframes - 72 hours, counting involuntary time spent
by the patient in an ER; where ER documentation notes
when patient was involuntary detained.
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Lastly...

Don’t forget to sign and date the Application!

For Badge #... _
DMH staff use their Employee #

Contract Providers please use the last 4 digits of
your SS#

Don’t forget to note time detention began.

Always avoid psychological jargon.

Original copy to accepting LPS facility; copy to the
patients chart/record.
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Practical
Application

.



When responding to a Crisis Situation
and conducting an evaluation...

- Safety First! Know and follow your Agency Safety
Protocols.

- Plan of Action! Know where you are going and what
you will do if problems arise!

. Practice ‘Situational Awareness’ when
responding...in every setting.
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Crisis Response

Call ahead. Let the requestor know your ETA.

Try and do your assessment in a quiet and separate area to
Insure confidentiality.

Always identify yourself and explain your role.
Take your time.

Cultural awareness, sensitivity, and accommodation is
Important.

Keep appropriate parties involved and informed.

Always be sure the person Is safe/secure as you conduct your
assessment.
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Crisis Assessment

Gather information from all available sources; this includes
collateral contacts.

Documentation is essential.

Assess the persons threat; explore their Intent/Plan/Means.
Determine their Ability/Capacity to act/carry out the threat.
Consider the persons prior history/background when
determining risk; previous suicide attempts; threatening
behavior; history of violence, incarcerations, substance abuse,
etc..
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Establishing and Documenting
Probable Cause

You need to determine and document the ‘probable cause’ that
leads you to believe this person is mentally disordered and
meets LPS criteria for involuntary hospitalization.

The Application for 72 Hour Detention is grounded on Law;
clinical science or practice may be used to insure the Law Is
applied appropriately; establishing Probable Cause.

In short, your challenge is to utilize your skills and judgment
In determining If the person is at serious risk of hurting self,

others, and/or gravely disabled, due to a mental health
disorder.

\\
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Assessment, cont.

Your written assessment summary on the
Application needs to specify the reason you
believe that probable cause exists; simply

recounting suicidal statements or threats is
insufficient.

For example, ‘the individual threatened to shoot
self’ is insufficient to document probable cause;
‘the individual threatened to shoot self, has a gun

in their possession, and is distraught’, would be
sufficient.
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Assessment, cont.

If the client does not meet LPS criteria, develop
and document your safety plan for the person.
Who is taking responsibility to insure the
individual remains safe?

Consultation, Consultation, Consultation.
A ‘no suicide/violence contract’ is not appropriate.

Always provide the person with information;
referrals to appropriate community services
and/or other interventions as appropriate to the
persons circumstance
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LOS ANGELES COUNTY
DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL HEALTH

Please go to Part Il to continue the LA County
DMH LPS Authorization Training

Thank you!




