
In 1974, the Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act was 
passed as part of the California Penal Code to protect children 
from abuse and neglect.  Since then, numerous amendments 

have expanded both the definitions of abuse and requirements for 
reporting.  California Penal Code, Sections 11164 through 11174, 
requires prompt reporting of all suspected non-accidental injuries, 
sexual abuse, or neglect of children to local law enforcement and/
or Department of Child and Family Services (DCFS).  In Los 
Angeles County, it is recommended that a report is sent to both. 

For various reasons, people who abuse children lack necessary 
internal control.  Therefore, they need as many external controls 
as possible, until they learn methods of self-control.  The reporting 
law is an external control which clearly states that “the abusive 
behavior is unacceptable and must stop.”  

The health professional and other mandated reporters often feel 
reticent to label behavior as abusive. They may feel they have no 
right to pass judgment on other people. However, if a reasonable 
suspicion exists, the protective action is beneficial to the parents 
as well, who may not recognize their behavior as abusive, or may 
be reluctant to seek help on their own.  There may also be nagging 
doubts about how the person suspected of abusing a child will 
react, what the outcome will be, and whether or not the report 
will put the child at greater risk. The best way to minimize the 
difficulty of reporting is to be fully prepared for the experience. 

For the child victim, regular exposure to mandated reporters may 
not begin until school age, though the abuse is likely to have 
begun much earlier.  In fact, children are most likely to die from 
abuse and neglect between the ages of birth to 2 years, and are at 
highest risk for abuse under the age of four, when they can exist 
in relative isolation from societal eyes.  An encounter with EMS 
in which abuse is suspected – and subsequently reported – can 
save a life.  And because EMS providers get a firsthand glimpse 
of the child’s world, they may be in a unique position to gather 
information such as scene details, environmental clues, family 
dynamics, and history inconsistencies that will be invaluable to 
the identification of abuse, initiation of family intervention and 
ultimately the protection of the child from further abuse. 

Each year in California, as many as 87,000 children are found to 
be the victims of substantiated child abuse or neglect.  Of those, 
about 60 percent suffer neglect, 20 percent are physically abused, 
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Ethics in EMS… 
Doing the Right Thing

Ethics is defined as a set of moral principles, or the 
examination of how decisions are made regarding 
what is right and what is wrong.  The Department of 

Transportation defines ethics as personal standards that govern 
how one should live. In order to decide what is ethical, the 
human mind must reason or judge actions, and determine one’s 
obligation to self, to others, and to society. Ethical behaviors 
should govern doing the right thing, but the right thing differs 
from person to person. Many believe that ethics is a personal 
set of values and does not cross into professional service. 
So the challenge is somehow bringing our personal values 
together with prescribed professional standards in a way that 
ensures safe and ethical delivery of emergency medical care. 
As a service profession, Emergency Medical Services must 
be governed by a clear set of professional ethics that guide 
the delivery of healthcare.  A key element in the National 
Association of Emergency Medical Technicians (NAEMT) 
Code of Ethics is:

Refusing to participate in unethical procedures, and assuming 
the responsibility to expose incompetence or unethical 
conduct of others to the appropriate authority in a proper and 
professional manner.
You are on scene of a motor vehicle collision that 
has several fatalities. The injuries are significant 
and gruesome, including severed limbs. In the initial 
triage of deceased victims, you observe your partner 
taking pictures of deceased victims with his cell 
phone camera. Is this ethical? What do you do?

see Child Abuse (cont inued on pg.2)
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10 percent are sexually abused, and 10 percent are emotionally or 
psychologically maltreated.  Children with disabilities are from 3 to 
7 times more likely to be victims of maltreatment than non-disabled 
children.

EMTs, paramedics, nurses and physicians are amongst the 
professionals identified in the California Penal Code as “mandated 
reporters.”  This means that any such person with a “reasonable 
suspicion” (NOT proof) of child abuse or neglect must make a 
report immediately (as soon as practically possible) by phone, and 
that a written report must follow within 36 hours.  If a child appears 
to be in danger, notify law enforcement immediately, and they will 
evaluate the need to place the child in protective custody.  Where a 
child is in “immediate and present danger of abuse by a family or 
household member, based on allegation . . . or threat of abuse” a 
judge can order an emergency protective order (California Family 
Code Section 6250).  Prehospital providers should document the 
name of the DCFS social worker and/or name, department, and 
badge number of the law enforcement officer contacted on the EMS 
Report Form, along with the time of notification, and disposition of 
the child if not transported.

Child abuse can occur regardless of socio-economic status, religion, 
education, ethnic background, or other factors.  Health professionals 
must consider the possibility of abuse whenever questionable signs, 
symptoms, or situations are encountered.  Everyone should be 
aware of the obvious signs of possible abuse and neglect, such as 
traumatic injuries in various stages of healing, or emaciation.  Other 
less obvious clues should also be considered and identified in these 
four key areas:

ENVIRONMENT
•	 Infestations (insects, rodents) 
•	 Presence of dirt, filth, or unsanitary conditions
•	 Lack of running water or heat
•	 Under- or untreated medical conditions (e.g., infections,
	 dental decay, unfilled inhaler prescription)

CAREGIVER BEHAVIOR
Some parents who were abused as children may not recognize their 
behavior as abusive. They may not hide this behavior since to them 
it is normal and acceptable. Other abusive parents may think of their 
behavior as abusive, and may seek to hide it, make up stories, or get 
their children to protect them.  Beware of these behaviors:

•	 Delay in seeking care for child
•	 No explanation for injuries, a story that changes on 
	 repetition, or a story that differs from child’s story
•	 Reluctance to allow health professionals to speak
	 to child alone
•	 Seems unable/unwilling to meet child’s basic needs
	 or provide a safe environment
•	 History of domestic violence in the home
•	 Employs “out of control” discipline, or use of
	 objects (belts, whips, clothes hangers) 
•	 Expresses unrealistic expectations of child (e.g., toilet
	 training of a 1-year-old)
•	 Berates humiliates, or belittles child
•	 Indifferent to child

C h i l d  A b u s e  ( f rom page 1)
•	 Leaves child unattended
•	 Makes threatening statements, such as “we’ll take
	 care of him” 

PHYSICAL CLUES
Accidental injuries tend to be on bony prominences. Toddlers 
commonly have accidental bruises on shins, upper leg and 
forehead. Check child for different stages of bruising – the 
age of a bruise cannot be exactly determined from its color, 
however bruises show a progression of color change over 
time (red/purple/blue initially, followed by green/yellow/
brown.)  Unexplained, ill-explained, or suspicious injuries 
warrant heightened awareness and diligent assessment and 
documentation by health professionals.

•	 Burns to areas unlikely to be accidentally burned (backs of 
	 hands, soles of feet, buttocks, back)

•	 Scalds with clear demarcation and a symmetrical pattern, 
	 (in contrast to accidental scalds where the child will quickly 
	 try to withdraw and the burn pattern will be irregular), a glove 
	 or sock pattern (as if hands or feet forcibly held underwater), 
	 or a ‘doughnut’ pattern (where child’s buttocks are pressed 
	 against the hot water container, so the central area is spared) 

•	 Oral injuries 
•	 Any suspected fracture in a baby too young to walk or crawl 

BEHAVIORAL CLUES
Children react differently to being abused. There is no one 
single reaction that can be clearly associated with child abuse; 
however, there are a number of possible behaviors which have 
been found to be consistently correlated with abuse.  The 
presence or report of any of these behaviors does not prove the 
child is being abused, but should serve as a warning signal to 
LOOK FURTHER:

•	 “Frozen watchfulness:” the child looks watchful yet 
	 unresponsive, carefully tracking the adults with his eyes 
	 (can indicate a severe level of abuse) 
•	 Does not seek comfort from caregivers when distressed 
•	 Inappropriate urination or defecation
•	 Habitual body-rocking
•	 Promiscuity, or precocious sexual behavior and/or 
	 vocabulary
•	 Runaway attempts.
•	 Clingy, indiscriminate attachment
•	 Passivity, lacks self-esteem; puts self down
•	 Physically abusive towards siblings, animals
•	 Out-of-control behavior (angry, panics, easily agitated), 
	 self-destructive behavior (self-mutilation, cutting), or 
	 extremely fearful/withdrawn/hostile/destructive behavior
•	 Scavenging for food
•	 Exhibits signs of eating disorders
•	 Substance abuse

Mandated reporters must stay alert and responsive to the child 
behaviors described above.  Children will rarely report they are 
being abused; but, being unable to stop it, they may develop 
coping mechanisms and behaviors which can bring them to the 
attention of health professionals.  The best source of information 
from the child is not what they child says, but how the child 
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behaves.  These children tend to be fi ercely loyal to their abusers, 
often demonstrating a pathological dependency on them.

MANDATED REPORTERS ARE NOT RESPONSIBLE TO 
INVESTIGATE OR COLLECT EVIDENCE.  Investigations 
are conducted by Child Protective Agencies.  While talking to a 
child about possible abuse or neglect, don’t make promises you 
can’t keep (e.g., promise not to tell anyone.)  Take care that your 
questions do not lead the child to say what they think you want 
to hear, and avoid using leading or coercive questioning.  Use 
open-ended questions to elicit information specifi c to the abuse 
or neglect suspected.

Informing parents that a report is being made is not legally 
required.  In some instances it may be contraindicated by factors 
such as the likelihood that a parent may fl ee or exhibit violent 
or erratic behavior.  There are instances in which a child may be 
at increased risk due to speaking with providers.   Advise child 
welfare staff and/or law enforcement if a child is afraid to stay 
at home, may be in danger of further abuse or threats, or may be 
under pressure to change or retract his or her statement. 

If the parent or suspected abuser is to be informed, begin by 
making a statement about what you saw, heard or believe that 
makes you suspect abuse or neglect.  Use only non-judgmental, 
factual statements, such as, “You seem to be behaving in an out-
of-control way, and I’m concerned that you are hurting your 
child.”  Follow this with, “As a mandated reporter, I am required 
by law to report  this.”  Just as important as the words you use 
is the tone of your voice and your demeanor.  The optimal and 
safest method is to be as non-judgmental as possible, which can 
be diffi cult.  Parents are frequently frightened and angry in these 
situations, but remember that most actually do love their children 
and do not want to hurt them. They are being abusive because 
they are out of control.  They may also – either immediately or 
eventually – feel relief that steps have been taken to protect their 
children.  When in doubt about what to say, call your local DCFS 
hotline and ask for assistance.

Once verbal and written reports are made, it is the responsibility 
of the investigating agency to conduct an active investigation, 
and forward to the Department of Justice (DOJ) for further 
action/investigation if the incident is deemed substantiated 
or inconclusive.  The Department of Justice will then decide 
whether the child needs to be removed from the home, and 
law enforcement will decide whether to proceed with criminal 
prosecution.

FAQs

What if I am wrong about my suspicion?

Dr. C. Henry Kempe, a pioneer in the fi eld of child abuse 
prevention, once said he would rather apologize to a parent 
because he made a mistake about reporting the abuse, than 
apologize to a brain-damaged child because he did not.  It is better 
to err in the direction of over-reporting than under-reporting. It is 
important to note that mandated reporters are granted immunity if 
they make a report, but they are liable if they fail to report when 
they have reasonable suspicion.

What is the fi ne line between physical abuse and discipline?
If the discipline is forceful enough to leave marks, physical abuse 
has occurred.  The use of instruments increases the likelihood of 
injuries, as does the harsh punishment of young children. The 
intent of the reporting law is not to interfere with appropriate 
parental discipline, but to respond to inappropriate or high-risk 
discipline.  If you have reasonable suspicion of abuse, even with 
no visible signs, you are required to report. Under California 
Welfare and Institutions Code Section 300(a), reasonable and age 
appropriate spanking to the buttocks where there is no evidence 
of serious physical injury does not constitute abuse.

What if abuse occurred in the past?
There is no time limitation regarding the reporting of child abuse. 
If a victim is under age18, the abuse must be reported.
Not everyone is able to work effectively with these situations. 
The responsible reporter faces his/her limitations or preferences, 
and, when appropriate, REFERS OUT to others better able or 
willing to provide treatment for these families and caregivers.  
Most people who abuse their children can be successfully treated, 
and you may play the pivotal role in initiating that treatment and 
saving a child’s life.

MANDATED REPORTERS FAST FACTS:

• Reports from mandated reporters may not remain 
anonymous, so that they can be contacted during 
investigation

• While your name cannot be disclosed to the family or 
anyone else not directly part of the investigation, it 
may be revealed in court at the time of trial if you have 
to testify

• Notifying a supervisor, hospital staff, or anyone else 
of suspected abuse does not satisfy your reporting 
requirement, but SHOULD be a part of your report to 
the next level of care

• Mandated reporters have civil and criminal immunity, 
and cannot be sued, harassed, disciplined or fi red as 
a result of, or prevented or impeded from, making a 
report

• Mandated reporters can be fi ned (up to $1000), or 
jailed (up to 6 months) as a result of NOT reporting 
suspected abuse or neglect, which is a misdemeanor – 
and can be found liable for damages in a civil lawsuit, 
especially if further abuse or neglect is sustained as a 
consequence of not making a report  

• If two or more people are required to report an instance 
of suspected abuse, they may select one person to 
report on behalf of the team.  However, if the desig-
nated team member fails to make the report, any team 
member with knowledge shall then be responsible to 
make the report

• After the investigation is completed, the investigat-
ing agency shall inform the mandated reporter of the 
results of the investigation and any action being taken
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WHEN CHILD ABUSE OR NEGLECT 
IS SUSPECTED

IMMEDIATELY:
Call the LA COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF CHILD 

AND FAMILY SERVICES
CHILD PROTECTION HOTLINE (24/7):

800.540.4000
WITHIN 36 HOURS:

Complete and send a California Suspected Child Abuse  
Report Form 8572* to both your local law enforcement agency, 

AND:

DCFS,
3075 Wilshire Blvd, Fifth Floor

Los Angeles, CA 90010
*this form can be downloaded at http://ag.ca.gov/childabuse/pdf/ss 8572.pdf

C h i l d  A b u s e  ( f rom page 3)

For more information, as well as a free educational module, 
please visit http://mandatedreporterca.com.  You may also refer 
to your Prehospital Care Manual, References 822 and 822.2, for 
prehospital provider information and sample forms.  Addition 
Child Abuse Report Forms (SS8572) can be obtained by calling 
800.540.4000. 
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Did you know that in the past, not all private 
ambulance companies operating in Los Angeles 
County were required to be licensed by the 

Department of Health Services’ Emergency Medical 
Services (EMS) Agency?  Only those companies that picked 
up patients in the unincorporated areas of the County or 
in several cities that had adopted the Los Angeles County 
Code (County Code) were required to obtain a business 
license from the EMS Agency.  That all changed in July of 
this year when revisions to the County Code, Chapter 7.16, 
Ambulances (Ambulance Ordinance), were implemented.

Effective July 28, 2011, all companies that pick-up patients 
in Los Angeles County (including all incorporated cities) 
are required to obtain a Los Angeles County Ambulance 
Operator Business License.  Existing ambulance companies 
will have until January 28, 2012 to submit their applications 
and will be allowed to continue operating in the areas 
they are currently licensed for until their applications are 
processed.  At the time the new Ambulance Ordinance went 
into effect there were a total of 82 ambulance companies 
operating within Los Angeles County and only 26 of those 
companies are currently licensed by the EMS Agency.  Any 
new ambulance company that plans to provide services in 
Los Angeles County will be required to obtain a Los Angeles 
County Ambulance Operator Business License prior to 
implementing services.

Additionally, the revised County Code requires all private 
EMS aircraft operators to obtain a Los Angeles County 
business license prior to providing services in the County.  
Previously there were no licensing provisions for private 
EMS aircraft operators picking up patients in Los Angeles 
County.

In the past, there has been little to no coordinated medical 
oversight of ambulance companies that were not licensed by 
the County.  The new requirements are intended to improve 
public health and safety by creating a more integrated EMS 
System, one that requires all ambulance operators to follow 
standard EMS policies.  All ambulance operators will also 
be required to understand hospital capabilities and their 
role and responsibility as part of the EMS System during a 
disaster or multiple casualty incident.

The new Ambulance Ordinance provides improved oversight 
of patient care by ambulance provider and EMS aircraft 
operators, improving the health, welfare, and safety of 

CHANGES IN LOS ANGELES 
COUNTY AMBULANCE COMPANY 
LICENSING REQUIREMENTS
By Luanne Underwood, RN, BSN

the residents of and visitors to the County.  Under the 
Ordinance, the EMS Agency will have the ability to 
monitor the operation of all ambulance providers for 
appropriate staff, staff training, medical equipment, and 
quality of patient care, to improve services for County 
residents.

If you would like more information, please visit the 
Ambulance Licensing page of our website at: http://ems.
dhs.lacounty.gov/AmbulanceLicensing/AmbLic.htm, 
or you may contact Luanne Underwood, Ambulance 
Programs/Special Projects Coordinator at (562) 347-1681 
or by e-mail at luunderwood@dhs.lacounty.gov.
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Do you know what the obligation as an EMS professional is 
in this situation?  Decisions in healthcare must have ethical 
intent.  Speaking up in this situation can be diffi cult. Are you 
afraid to speak up because you are concerned with the teams’ 
perception of you? Are you concerned that speaking up will 
make you “unpopular” with your coworkers? A fundamental 
responsibility of the Emergency Medical Technician/
Emergency Medical Technician-Paramedic is to protect life, 
to alleviate suffering, to promote health, to do no harm, and 
to encourage equal availability of quality emergency medical 
care. The Hippocratic Oath’s “Do no harm” statement has 
been a primary principle in the delivery of healthcare for 
centuries. Medical ethics refers to this as nonmalefi cence or 
“fi rst, do no harm”.  Every member of a healthcare team is 
ethically responsible for the care rendered to a patient. We are 
responsible for ensuring that in caring for a patient; we “do no 
harm’.
Photographing the deceased at the scene of an accident you 
are working may not cause harm to the dead body.  Acting 
unethically or conducting ourselves in a manner in which 
it appears to be unethical to others, is doing harm…to our 
profession.  Being in uniform, answering the call for service 
or being at the bedside providing care for the ill or injured 
places us, and thus our profession, in a highly visible position.  
Perceptions of our actions are sometimes stronger than the 
actions themselves. If  your team members’ actions appear to be 
unethical to you; they are doing harm.  It is our responsibility as 
healthcare team members to speak up, redirect, and encourage 
actions that “fi rst, do no harm”.  
Doing the right thing is not taking the easy way out. It would 
be easier for us to turn our back on our partner taking pictures. 
Regardless of the popularity, convenience, or impact, our 
decision making as EMS professionals, doing the right thing 
must take precedence.  Ethics is a set of moral principles, 
values, and standards that must apply to both our personal and 
professional lives.

ethics in ems ( f rom on pg.1)

The EMS Agency congratulates Dr. Daniel R. Margulies on his appointment to the State 
EMS Commission.  Dr. Margulies is the Director of Trauma Services at Cedars-Sinai 
Medical Center, Director of the Surgical Critical Care Unit, and Associate Director of the 

Division of General Surgery.   In addition to his clinical work, he teaches in the surgery residency 
program, conducts research, and is widely published in the fi elds of trauma and surgical critical 
care. He was selected from three nominees submitted by the California Chapter of the American 
College of Surgeons and then appointed to the State Commission by the Speaker of the Assembly.
Dr. Margulies’ service as a Los Angeles County EMS Commissioner (he is currently fi nishing his 

second four-year term) has supplemented his extensive medical knowledge  with an understanding of the systemwide 
aspects of EMS such as data collection, communications, and issues related to provider agencies and receiving 
hospitals.  We again congratulate Dr. Margulies and feel confi dent he will be an asset to the State EMS Commission. 

DR. MARGULIES APPOINTED TO STATE EMS COMMISSION

The Emergency Medical Technician provides services based on human need, 
with respect for human dignity, unrestricted by considerations of nationality, 
race creed, color, or status.
The Emergency Medical Technician does not use professional knowledge 
and skills in any enterprise detrimental to the public well being.
The Emergency Medical Technician respects and holds in confi dence all 
information of a confi dential nature obtained in the course of professional 
work unless required by law to divulge such information.
The Emergency Medical Technician, as a citizen, understands and upholds 
the law and performs the duties of citizenship; as a professional, the 
Emergency Medical Technician has the never-ending responsibility to work 
with concerned citizens and other health care professionals in promoting a 
high standard of emergency medical care to all people.
The Emergency Medical Technician shall maintain professional competence 
and demonstrate concern for the competence of other members of the 
Emergency Medical Services health care team.
An Emergency Medical Technician assumes responsibility in defi ning and 
upholding standards of professional practice and education.
The Emergency Medical Technician assumes responsibility for individual 
professional actions and judgment, both in dependent and independent 
emergency functions, and knows and upholds the laws which affect the 
practice of the Emergency Medical Technician.
An Emergency Medical Technician has the responsibility to be aware of and 
participate in matters of legislation affecting the Emergency Medical Services 
System.
The Emergency Medical Technician, or groups of Emergency Medical Techni-
cians, who advertise professional service, do so in conformity with the dignity 
of the profession.
The Emergency Medical Technician has an obligation to protect the public 
by not delegating to a person less qualifi ed, any service which requires the 
professional competence of an Emergency Medical Technician
The Emergency Medical Technician will work harmoniously with and sustain 
confi dence in Emergency Medical Technician associates, the nurses, the 
physicians, and other members of the Emergency Medical Services health 
care team.
The Emergency Medical Technician refuses to participate in unethical proce-
dures, and assumes the responsibility to expose incompetence or unethical 
conduct of others to the appropriate authority in a proper and professional 
manner.

NAEMT CODE OF ETHICS
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Emergent pleural needle decompression is controversial and 
not without risk.  Inappropriate patient selection, treatment 
failure, and misplacement of the needle are a few of the 

issues that have experts questioning the benefit of prehospital needle 
thoracostomy (PNT).

Patient Selection
Several studies conducted in large urban settings have demonstrated 
that PNT is infrequently used, representing approximately 1% of 
the severely injured patients transported to a Level 1 trauma center.  
The infrequency with which the skill is performed is thought to 
be associated with the over triage of PNTs placed in patients not 
experiencing a true tension pneumothorax. 

 A pneumothorax is a collection of air in the pleural space causing 
part of or the entire lung to collapse.  Characteristic physical findings 
of a large pneumothorax include decreased chest wall movement 
and diminished breath sounds on the affected side; subcutaneous 
emphysema may or may not be present.  Thoracic trauma is 
generally associated with acute pneumothoraces in the prehospital 
setting, but in some cases this can happen without injury, usually 
as a complication of an underlying lung disease.  Individuals with 
chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, cystic fibrosis, tuberculosis 
or other types of pulmonary conditions are at risk for what is 
called a “spontaneous” pneumothorax.  Most often these types of 
pneumothoraces are not life-threatening but in rare instances can 
progress into a tension pneumothorax.  A tension pneumothorax 
is more likely to be seen in patients with penetrating chest wall 
injuries.  The chest wound forms a one-way valve allowing air to 
enter the pleural space during inspiration but does not permit air 
to escape during expiration.  There is a progressive build-up of air 
in the intrapleural space which can cause obstructive shock from 
compression of the vena cava leading to impaired right ventricular 
filling and hypotension.  

Research indicates over one-fourth (26%) of injured patients 
suspected of having a pneumothorax received a PNT even though 
a pneumothorax was not present.  In an effort to evaluate patient 
selection in Los Angeles County, PNT data were collected for one 
year during 2010-11.  The first six months of data showed that 
55% of the patients receiving a PNT had a normal or high systolic 
blood pressure (SPB) indicating patients were receiving emergent 
pleural decompression without the presence of hemodynamic 
changes associated with a pneumothorax under tension.  To reduce 
the number of unwarranted needle thoracostomies performed in the 
field Reference No. 806.1, Procedures Prior to Base Contact, was 
revised to include a clinical parameter:  patients with a suspected 
tension pneumothorax must have a SBP < 80 mmHg to receive a 
PNT prior to base contact.  After the policy revision, six months of 
data showed a modest reduction in the number of PNTs placed in 
patients with normal-to-high SBPs

Prehospital Needle 
Thoracostomy …. 
More harm than good?

Equipment Requirements
In addition to appropriate patient selection, utilizing the correct 
needle size is critical to reaching the pleural space and thus, 
relieving the tension.  Studies using ultrasound to measure 
chest wall thickness at the 2nd intercostal space, midclavicular 
line indicate that a 1.75-2” catheter length is not sufficient 
to penetrate the chest wall in up to 35% of the population, 
depending on patient age and gender.  Due to the nationwide 
rise in obesity, the latest data indicate that a minimum 3”-3.5” 
needle length and size 14 gauge or larger angiocath is needed to 
provide adequate decompression of the pleural space.  Currently, 
Reference No. 703, ALS Unit Inventory, requires a 3” needle 
and a 14 gauge angiocath or a needle thoracostomy kit, which 
typically includes a 3.25” or 3.5” needle.  To remain consistent 
with evidence-based practice, Reference No. 703, Reference 
No. 706, ALS EMS Aircraft Inventory, and Reference No. 704, 
Assessment Unit Inventory, will be revised to require the longer 
needle.

Placement
Prehospital Trauma Life Support recommends utilizing the 2nd 
intercostal space, midclavicular line for needle placement in the 
prehospital setting, which is the only approved insertion site in 
Los Angeles County.  While utilizing a longer needle increases 
the likelihood of reaching the pleural space, it also poses a real 
risk of causing harm in patients without a tension pneumothorax.  
PNT placement in patients without hemodynamic changes can 
lead to unnecessary laceration of lung tissue, increasing the 
chance of creating a pneumothorax when one was not originally 
present.

Conclusion 

A prehospital needle thoracostomy can be a livesaver; however, 
the key to success lies in appropriate patient selection, use 
of the right equipment, and accurate needle placement.  
Hypotensive patients with a high suspicion for a tension 
pneumothorax require prompt recognition and emergent 
pleural decompression.  However, patients suspected of having 
a tension pneumothorax without hemodynamic compromise 
do not require emergent pleural needle decompression.  Rapid 
transport to the most appropriate receiving facility for definitive 
diagnosis and treatment is safest option for these patients. 

by Susan Mori, RN, BSN
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The EMS Agency is responsible for the approval of agencies 
and organizations as Automated External Defi brillation 
(AED) Service Providers. This allows EMTs and public 

safety personnel to operate AED’s when providing services to the 
general public.

State regulations require AED Service Providers to submit AED 
usage data on an annual basis. In Los Angeles County, AED 
annual reports for the previous calendar year are due by the end 
of March.  AED Annual Report forms are available on the EMS 
Agency web page at http://ems.dhs.lacounty.gov

The AED usage data submitted to the EMS Agency for 2010 is 
outlined in the table below.  Of the 81 approved programs, 18 
agencies applied an AED and performed defi brillation at least 
once on a combined total of 711 patients.  While the reported 
survival numbers are low (5), the actual number of lives saved is 
unknown because outcome information was not available on all 
the patients.

AED Service Providers by Category:

Public Safety 
Law enforcement agencies, lifeguards 25

Fire Departments 25

Private Ambulance Companies 7

Other 24
Including colleges/universities, fi lm studios, 
theme parks, airports, refi neries, private EMT companies 

Total 81

On June 30, 2011 the Hospital Emergency Response 
Team (HERT) conducted an excercise to test the HERT 
response.  The HERT exercise involved coordination 

of Los Angeles County EMS Agency’s Medical Alert Center 
(MAC), Harbor/UCLA Medical Center, Los Angeles Fire 
Department (LAFD) and Northridge Hospital Medical Center.

The HERT concept was developed in the 1980’s, to assist 
fi re departments and emergency services providers when 
situations arose where it would be necessary to conduct an 
emergency fi eld amputation in order to save the life of an 
entrapped victim.  The HERT program was put into policy 
in 1992 and this policy was revised subsequent to the 2008 
Chatsworth Train Derailment.  The experience gained from the 
train derailment identifi ed key actions to improve the HERT 
program including regularly scheduled exercises.

The purpose of the June 2011 exercise was to evaluate the 
ability of:

1. LAFD to identify that the medical needs of the victim
  exceeded the paramedic scope of practice and to 
 contact the MAC to activate a HERT response.
2. MAC to coordinate activation of the HERT and
 transportation of HERT personnel to the fi eld.
3. Harbor/UCLA Medical Center HERT to respond to the
 incident with appropriate personnel, medical equipment
 and personal protective equipment.
4. LAFD to provide air transportation of the HERT to the
 incident site.
5. HERT personnel to integrate with LAFD Incident
 Command System and the Urban Search and Rescue
 (USAR) team, which is essential to facilitate patient care
  and scene safety.
6. HERT and LAFD to coordinate transportation of the 
 patient to the area Trauma Center (Northridge Hospital
 Medical Center).

HERT

  HERT (con’t  on page 8)

AED Stats
2010
AED Stats
2010

 DEFIBRILLATION REPORT FOR 
LOS ANGELES COUNTY CALENDAR YEAR 2010

1. The number of patients on whom EMT/PS defi brillator shocks were 
administered:  711

2. Number of these persons who suffered a witnessed (seen or heard) 
cardiac arrest whose initial monitored rhythm was ventricular 
tachycardia or ventricular fi brillation:  404

3. The total number of patients, defi brillated, who were discharged 
from the hospital alive:  5

4. The number of defi brillated patients witnessed in cardiac arrest, 
who were discharged from the hospital alive:  5

5. The  number of basic life support personnel who are qualifi ed, in 
your jurisdiction, to perform defi brillation:  11299

6. The number of public safety personnel, (as defi ned in CCR Chapter 
1.5) in your jurisdiction, qualifi ed to perform defi brillation:  3181

7. The number of non-licensed or non-certifi ed (lay public) persons, 
in your jurisdiction, trained to perform defi brillation:  1973

HERT Team members (Left to Right):  Pilot Brian Simon, LAFD 88-B; 
Dr. Scott Bricker, Trauma; Dr. Madonna Fernandez, EM; Dr. David Plurad, Trauma; 
Antoinette Sala, RN; Dr. Mike Peterson, EM; Susan Simpson, RN, 
Laura Schneider, RN; Pilot Paul Schori, LAFD 88-B



The HERT has only been activated once since 2008 due to the 
rarity of incidents requiring this service.  The exercise provided 
an excellent opportunity to evaluate important components of a 
HERT response and demonstrated that LAFD, MAC, Harbor-
UCLA Medical Center and Northridge Medical Center were 
able to successfully coordinate a HERT activation, response, 
surgical intervention and patient transportation under exercise 
conditions.

 As a coordinated EMS system response, it was evident that 
ongoing work would be necessary to sustain advancements 
made and to improve the coordination of the multiple agencies 
involved in a HERT response, including:

1.	 Additional HERT and paramedic provider training with 
	 respect to scene safety, fire department rescue equipment 
	 and operations.

2.	 Regularly scheduled multi-agency HERT exercises 
	  involving other paramedic providers, the HERT 
	 from Harbor-UCLA Medical Center , MAC and  
	 other Trauma Centers.

This was the second HERT exercise since the program was 
restructured in 2008 and overall the progress made by the 
EMS Agency, Harbor/UCLA Medical Center HERT, and 
LAFD is commendable.  The valuable experience gained will 
be incorporated into the HERT program to prepare for the day 
when a real life emergency would call the HERT into action 
and make a difference in a life or death situation.

Who’s Going To Our 
Approved Stroke Centers 
(ASC)? By Presenting Chief 
Complaint

For Your  
Information
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The J. Michael Criley Paramedic Train-
ing Institute Commemorative album is 
now available for purchase ($55.00 cash 
or check). The limited edition, hardcover  
album features the history of EMS in Los 
Angeles County, letters from Randy Man-
tooth and Kevin Tighe, profiles of 911 pub-

lic provider agencies, and over 350 pages of paramedic photos. 
To purchase the album, please visit the EMS Agency at 10100 
Pioneer Blvd, Suite 200 Santa Fe Springs, CA or contact us at:

562-347-1500 or ems@dhs.lacounty.gov. 
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Happy 
Holidays!
Happy 

Holidays!
The EMS Agency would like to 

wish you all a Happy and 
Safe Holiday Season  

and a prosperous New Year!

The EMS Agency would like to 
wish you all a Happy and 

Safe Holiday Season  
and a prosperous New Year!


