# COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES

## **Family and Social Services**

FESIA A. DAVENPORT Chief Executive Officer



DATE: Wednesday, September 28, 2022

TIME: 1:30 PM

THIS MEETING WILL CONTINUE TO BE CONDUCTED VIRTUALLY TO ENSURE THE SAFETY OF MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC AND EMPLOYEES AS PERMITTED UNDER STATE LAW.

TO PARTICIPATE IN THE MEETING, PLEASE CALL AS FOLLOWS: Teleconference Call-In Number: (323) 776-6996/ Conference ID: 599 009 090# MS Teams Meeting Link (Ctrl + click to follow link)

### **AGENDA**

Members of the Public may address any agenda item after all Informational Items are presented. Two (2) minutes are allowed for each item.

- I. Call to Order
- II. General Public Comment
- III. **Consent Item(s)** (Any Information Item is subject to discussion and/or presentation at the request of two or more Board offices):
  - - No Items -
- IV. Presentation/Discussion Items:
  - a. First 5 LA Quarterly Update.
  - b. Los Angeles County High School for the Arts
     Update on Programs, Partnerships, Equity, and Opportunities.
- V. Public Comment
- VI. Standing item(s) and those continued from a previous meeting of the Board of Supervisors or from a previous FSS Agenda Review meeting:
  - - No Items -

#### VII. **Notice of Closed Session**

CS1-**CONFERENCE WITH LEGAL COUNSEL – Existing Litigation** 

Paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) of Government Code Section 54956.9)

Victor Avalos, et al. v. County of Los Angeles, et al.,
Los Angeles Superior Court, Case Number 19STCV27032
Department of Children and Family Services

VIII. Adjournment



# **AGENDA**

## Los Angeles County Supervisors' Deputies for Children's Issues

### QUARTERLY MEETING

Wednesday, September 28, 2022 1:30 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.

Item 1 **ED Search Process and Update**  Kim B.

Item 2 Fall 2022 Priorities Antoinette A.B.

- First 5 LA Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) commitments
- Strategic Plan Review and Refinement

COMMISSIONERS

Los Angeles County Supervisor Sheila Kuehl Chair

Judy Abdo Vice Chair

Barbara Ferrer, Ph.D., Maricela Ramirez M.P.H., M.Ed. Astrid Heger, M.D. Yvette Martinez

Frank Ramos Carol Sigala Romalis J. Taylor **EX OFFICIO MEMBERS** 

Jacquelyn McCroskey, DSW Karla Pleitéz Howell Robert Byrd, Psy.D Deanne Tilton

**EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR** 

Kim Belshé

**EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT** 

John A. Wagner