1. The YCC was called to order at 5:48pm.

Name	SD	Attended
Shay'La Price	SD 1	Χ
Martha Rosario	SD 1	No
Alyssa Jaipersaud	SD 2	No
Emmanuel Alcantar	SD 2	Χ
Kevin Patel	SD 2	Χ
LewaNana Pinkney	SD 2	No
Sim Bilal	SD 2	No
Isaac Michael Ybarra	SD 3	No
Madison Jennings	SD 3	Χ
Kerry Sempelsz	SD 3	Χ
Kian Gholibeik	SD 3	Χ
Jorge Diaz	SD 4	Χ
Guisel Hernandez	SD 4	Χ
Jordan Salcido	SD 4	Х
Mayra Catalan-Orozco	SD 4	Χ
Rebecca Gloyer	SD 4	No
Emily Ng	SD 5	Χ
Ryan Valenzuela-Holguin	SD 5	No

Youth Climate Commissioners

Chief Sustainability Office: Victoria Simon, Julie Gomez

2. Public Comment – No public comment.

3. Approval of minutes

Minutes from July 11, 2024.

Commissioner Diaz motioned to approve the meeting minutes and second by Commissioner Gholibeik.

4. Presentations

- Carlos Kattan and Cheren Kochen, Department of Economic Opportunity Presentation on Youth Engagement in the County Workforce
- Victoria Simon, LA County Chief Sustainability Office
 Presentation on the OurCounty Annual Report and OurCounty Refresh

5. Election of the Chair

Victoria Simon provided an overview of the role of the Chair. Commissioner Jennings nominated Commissioner Patel to the role of Chair, and he accepted the nomination. Commissioner Sempelsz nominated Commissioner Salcido to the role of Chair, but she did not accept. Commissioner Diaz nominated Commissioner Price to the role of Chair, but she did not accept. Commissioner Patel provided an overview of his leadership to date, and his views on the Chair role. Commissioner Diaz motioned to elect Commissioner Patel to Chair and second by Commissioner Price. He was unanimously approved.

6. Election of the Vice Chair

Victoria Simon provided an overview of the role of the Vice Chair. Commissioner Patel nominated Commissioner Salcido to the role of Vice Chair, and she accepted the nomination. Commissioner Salcido provided an overview of her leadership to date and view of the Vice Chair position. With no other nominations, Commissioner Alcantar motioned to elect Commissioner Salcido to Vice Chair and second by Commissioner Catalan-Orozco. She was unanimously approved.

7. Approval of Amendments to Bylaws

Victoria Simon provided an overview of the proposed amendment to Section 21 in the Bylaws to allow for a vote of no confidence to remove the Chair or Vice Chair through a two-thirds majority vote. Motion to approve the amendment to the Bylaws by Commissioner Hernandez and second by Commission Diaz.

8. Approval of the 2025 Regular Meeting Dates

Commissioner Jennings motioned to approve the 2025 meetings dates and revised 5:30pm start time and second by Commissioner Sempelsz.

9. Ad Hoc Legislative Committee Report Back

Commissioner Hernandez and Commissioner Salcido reported back on recent legislative activity and the accomplishments of the Ad Hoc Legislative Committee. With the legislative session coming to a close, the Ad Hoc Committee will disband. A new Ad Hoc Committee may be created in the coming legislative session, if needed.

10. Approval of the 2024 Youth Climate Commission Annual Report and Discussion of the 2025 Work Plan

Victoria Simon gave an overview of the accomplishments detailed in the Annual Report and the proposed Work Plan for 2025. Commissioner Jennings proposed an edit to the typo on Workstream III. Motion to approve the Annual Report with the noted edit by Commissioner Diaz and second by Commissioner Alcantar.

11. Next Steps on Outreach and Engagement

Commissioners discussed planning for District Coalition meetings in 2025. It was announced that a holiday or new year social would be planned.

Youth Climate Commission October 17, 2024 Page 2

Meeting adjourned at 8:00pm