

STATEMENT OF PROCEEDINGS FOR THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BLUE RIBBON COMMISSION ON CHILD PROTECTION KENNETH HAHN HALL OF ADMINISTRATION 500 WEST TEMPLE STREET, ROOM 381B LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90012

Thursday, August 1, 2013

9:00 AM

AUDIO LINK FOR THE ENTIRE MEETING. (13-3702)

<u>Attachments:</u> <u>AUDIO</u>

<u>VIDEO</u>

Present: Commissioner Marilyn L. Flynn, Commissioner Hon. Terry B. Friedman (ret.), Vice Chair Leslie Gilbert-Lurie, Commissioner Gabriella Holt, Commissioner Richard Martinez, Commissioner Andrea L. Rich, Chairman David Sanders, Commissioner Dan Scott, Commissioner Janet Teague and Vice Chair Hon. Dickran M. Tevrizian (ret.)

I. ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS

1. Call to Order and Introductions by Supervisor Mark Ridley-Thomas, Chairman of the Board of Supervisors. (13-3554)

The meeting was called to order by the Honorable Board of Supervisor's Chairman, Mark Ridley-Thomas, at 9:04 a.m.

Chairman Ridley-Thomas introduced the newly appointed members and provided an overview of the purpose of the Blue Ribbon Commission on Child Protection. The Honorable Supervisor Michael D. Antonovich also addressed the Commission.

Commissioners were sworn in by Chairman Ridley-Thomas.

Member of the public, Arnold Sachs, addressed the Commission.

2. Election of Chairperson and Vice Chairperson of the Commission. (13-3556)

Member of the public, Arnold Sachs, addressed the Commission.

Chairman Ridley-Thomas opened nominations for Chair of the Commission. Commissioner Flynn nominated Commissioner Sanders to serve as Chair.

There being no other nominations, Chairman Mark Ridley-Thomas declared the nominations for Chair closed. On motion of Commissioner Flynn, seconded by Commissioner Gilbert-Lurie, and unanimously carried, Commissioner Sanders was appointed Chair of the Commission.

Chairman Ridley-Thomas opened nominations for Vice Chair. Commissioner Scott nominated Commissioner Tevrizian to serve as Vice Chair. Commissioner Friedman nominated Commissioner Gilbert-Lurie to serve as Vice Chair.

Chairman Ridley-Thomas declared the nominations for Vice Chair closed and called a vote for each nominee. Commissioners Holt, Martinez, Scott and Teague voted in favor of Commissioner Tevrizian. Commissioners Flynn, Friedman, Rich and Chair Sanders voted in favor of Commissioner Gilbert-Lurie.

By common consent, there being no objection, Commissioners Tevrizian and Gilbert-Lurie were appointed Vice Chairs of the Commission.

3. Discussion of proposed time line, meeting schedule, staffing and space. (13-3557)

Chair Sanders opened discussion on establishing a meeting schedule and location. Discussion ensued among Commissioners on the frequency of meetings, time of day and location.

William T Fujioka, Chief Executive Officer, addressed the Commission.

Members of the public, Arnold Sachs and Eric Preven, addressed the Commission.

By Common consent, there being no objection, this item was continued to the next meeting date.

4. Adoption of Procedural Rules (abridged version of Robert's Rules of Order). (13-3558)

Barbara Goul, Principal County Counsel, and LaTayvius Alberty, Deputy County Counsel, provided an overview of Robert's Rules in conjunction with the Brown Act.

Member of the public, Arnold Sachs, addressed the Commission.

On motion of Vice Chair Tevrizian, seconded by Commissioner Rich, there being no objection, the Commission adopted the abridged version of the Robert's Rules of Order as their procedural rules.

5. Discussion concerning Policies and Procedures of the Commission. (13-3559)

Barbara Goul, Principal County Counsel, and LaTayvius Alberty, Deputy County Counsel, provided an overview of the Ralph M. Brown Act.

Member of the public, Arnold Sachs, addressed the Commission.

II. MISCELLANEOUS

6. Items not on the posted agenda, to be presented and (if requested) referred to staff or placed on the agenda for action at a future meeting of the Commission, or matters requiring immediate action because of an emergency situation or where the need to take immediate action came to the attention of the Commission subsequent to the posting of the agenda. (13-3560)

There were no items presented.

 Opportunity for members of the public to address the Commission on items of interest that are within the subject matter jurisdiction of the Commission. (13-3561)

Members of the public, Dr. Matt Harris, John Owsley, Patricia Levinson, Lori Martin, Vivian Miranda, Arnold Sachs, Eric Preven, Bill Gay, Denise Paz, CJ, Coliesha Copeland and Alicia Devore addressed the Commission.

III. CLOSED SESSION

8. <u>PUBLIC EMPLOYMENT</u> (Government Code Section 54957)

> Consideration of candidates for the position of Executive Director of the Blue Ribbon Commission on Child Protection. (13-3584)

Member of the public, Arnold Sachs, addressed the Commission.

The Commission recessed to Closed Session at 10:34 a.m. Present were Commissioners: Marilyn L. Flynn, Hon. Terry B. Friedman (ret.), Leslie Gilbert-Lurie, Gabriella Holt, Richard Martinez, Andrea L. Rich, Dan Scott, Janet Teague, Hon. Dickran M. Tevrizian (ret.), and Chairman David Sanders presiding.

The Commission reconvened to Open Session at 11:28 a.m. Present were Commissioners: Marilyn L. Flynn, Hon. Terry B. Friedman (ret.), Leslie Gilbert-Lurie, Gabriella Holt, Richard Martinez, Andrea L. Rich, Dan Scott, Janet Teague, Hon. Dickran M. Tevrizian (ret.), and Chairman David Sanders presiding.

<u>Report of Closed Session</u> No reportable action was taken in Closed Session.

9. Adjournment. (13-3562)

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting adjourned at 11:29 a.m.