

## STATEMENT OF PROCEEDINGS FOR THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE CITIZEN'S COMMISSION ON JAIL VIOLENCE

## KENNETH HAHN HALL OF ADMINISTRATION 500 WEST TEMPLE STREET, ROOM 381B LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90012

Friday, December 9, 2011 2:00 PM

Present: Chair Baird, Vice Chair Murray, Commissioner Moreno,

Commissioner McDonnell and Commissioner Tevrizian

AUDIO AND VIDEO LINK FOR THE ENTIRE MEETING. (11-5479)

Attachments: AUDIO

**VIDEO** 

## I. ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS

**1.** Call to Order. (11-5261)

The meeting was called to order by Chair Baird at 2:14 p.m.

**2.** Approval of the November 18, 2011 Meeting Minutes. (11-5266)

On motion of Commissioner Tevrizian, seconded by Vice Chair Murray, there being no objection, this item was approved.

Attachments: SUPPORTING DOCUMENT

3. Discussion and consideration of appointment of two additional Commission members from a pool of individuals approved by the Board of Supervisors. (11-5046)

Chair Baird made a motion, seconded by Commissioner Moreno, to proceed by narrowing the pool to no less than three and no more than five candidates.

Peter Eliasberg of the American Civil Liberties Union and Arnold Sachs addressed the Commission.

On motion of Chair Baird, seconded by Commissioner Tevrizian, the Commission approved the aforementioned procedure and opened the floor for nominations.

Commissioner Tevrizian made a motion to nominate The Hon. Robert Bonner, seconded by Commissioner McDonnell.

Commissioner Moreno made a motion to nominate The Hon. David R. Garcia, seconded by Commissioner Tevrizian.

Commissioner Moreno made a motion to nominate The Hon. Joseph L. Dunn, seconded by Vice Chair Murray.

Vice Chair Murray made a motion to nominate Alexander Busansky, seconded by Commissioner Tevrizian.

Vice Chair Murray made a motion to nominate The Hon. Candice Cooper, seconded by Commissioner McDonnell.

Commissioner McDonnell made a motion to nominate The Hon. Debra Wong Yang, seconded by Tevrizian.

The Chair declared the nominations closed.

Ballots were distributed to all Commissioners for selection of two candidates from the nominees as follows: The Hon. Robert Bonner, The Hon. David R. Garcia, The Hon. Joseph L. Dunn, Alexander Busansky, The Hon. Candice Cooper, and The Hon. Debra Wong Yang.

The matter was tabled for later in the meeting for a report on the tabulation of the ballots.

Later in the meeting, Chair Baird announced Alexander Busansky as the first candidate to be elected by majority vote of the Commission.

Ballots were redistributed to all Commissioners for selection of a second candidate.

After tabulation, Chair Baird announced The Hon. Robert Bonner as the second candidate elected by majority vote of the Commission.

Commissioner Tevrizian made a motion to elect an alternate, non-voting member at this meeting.

Andrea Sheridan Ordin, County Counsel, responded to questions posed by the Commission.

After discussion, Commissioner Tevrizian's motion to select an alternate failed to carry by the following vote.

**Ayes:** 2 - Vice Chair Reverend Murray and The Honorable

Tevrizian

**Noes:** 3 - Chair The Honorable Baird, The Honorable Moreno

and Chief McDonnell

**Attachments:** SUPPORTING DOCUMENT - BIOGRAPHIES

**SUPPORTING DOCUMENT - BALLOT VOTE** 

**4.** Discussion of Future Agenda Items and Date of Next Meeting. (11-5265)

Arnold Sachs addressed the Commission.

The next meeting of the Commission will take place on December 19, 2011 at 2:00 p.m. in Room 381B of the Kenneth Hahn Hall of Administration, 500 West Temple Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012.

## **II. MISCELLANEOUS**

5. Items not on the agenda, to be presented and (if requested) referred to staff or placed on the agenda for action at a future meeting of the Commission, or matters requiring immediate action because of an emergency situation or where the need to take immediate action came to the attention of the Commission subsequent to the posting of the agenda. (11-5262)

Arnold Sachs addressed the Commission.

There were no items discussed.

6. Opportunity for members of the public to address the Commission on items of interest that are within the subject matter jurisdiction of the Commission. (11-5263)

Peter Eliasberg of the ACLU and Arnold Sachs addressed the Commission.

**7.** Adjournment (11-5264)

There being no further business to conduct, the meeting adjourned at 2:50 p.m.