

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES PROBATION COMMISSION 9150 EAST IMPERIAL HIGHWAY DOWNEY, CALIFORNIA 90242 (562) 940-2754



NOTICE OF REGULAR MEETING

DATE: Thursday, February 22, 2018

TIME: 10:00 a.m. – Regular Meeting

12:00 a.m. - Adjournment

WHERE: Kenneth Hahn Hall of Administration

500 West Temple Street, Room 743

Los Angeles, California 90012

The meetings of the Commission are open to the public. Members of the public may address the Commission on any agenda item or item of interest, which are within the subject matter of the Commission by submitting a written request to the Probation Department prior to the meeting. Three (3) minutes are allowed, per person, on each agenda and non-agenda item, with a total of 15 minutes for public comments on each agenda and non-agenda item, unless the Commission sets alternative limits or other allocations of time.

- 1. Call to order and roll call of Commissioners
 - Excused absences:
- 2. Discussion and possible action on outstanding reports and issues of concern.
- 3. Los Angeles County Probation Department presentations and responses, including progress reports to previous inspection reports and inquiries.
- 4. Public Comment
 - Three (3) minutes are allowed, per person, on each agenda and non-agenda item, with a total of 15 minutes for public comments on each agenda and non-agenda item
- 5. Old and Continued Business
 - Continued discussion and possible action on signups for assignments of 2018 annual inspections of Juvenile Halls and Camps.
 - Discussion and consideration of necessary actions on the progress of issues related to Use of Force issues in juvenile probation camps
 - Discussion and consideration of necessary actions on the progress of issues related to training and development of probation department staff
 - Discussion and consideration of necessary actions on the progress of issues related to mental health services and psychotropic medication

Commissioners

Joe Gardner-President,

Hon. Jan Levine (Ret)-1st Vice President, Daniel Seaver-2nd Vice President, Donald Meredith-Sergeant at Arms, Azael Martinez-Sonoqui, Cyn Yamashiro, Esq., Jacqueline Caster, Esq. Jo Kaplan, Esq. Olivia E. Mitchell, Peter Shutan, Zachary Hoover, Hon. Betsy Butler (Ret.), Hon. Alex Saab, Esq. Randy Herbon, Jessica Quintana



COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES PROBATION COMMISSION 9150 EAST IMPERIAL HIGHWAY DOWNEY, CALIFORNIA 90242 (562) 940-2754



- Discussion and consideration of necessary actions on the progress of issues related to conditions at juvenile facilities
- Discussion and consideration of necessary actions on the progress of issues related to findings from inspections of juvenile facilities by Commission members

6. New Business

- Discussion, review and possible action regarding "Review of Juvenile Justice Information Exchange" article titled "California Must Ban Chemical Spray in Juvenile Facilities."
- Directive and instruction regarding the immediate reporting of serious incidents and deficiencies observed in camps and halls.
- 7. Discussion and possible action for the Commission to add topics to next meeting's agenda
- 8. Announcements
- 9. Adjourn

Next Meeting:

Thursday, March 8, 2018 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Kenneth Hahn Hall of Administration 500 West Temple Street, Room 140A Los Angeles, California, 90012

Attention: Any person, who seeks support or endorsement from the Commission of any official action, may be subject to the provisions of Los Angeles County Code, Chapter 2.160, relating to lobbyists. Violation of the Lobbyist Ordinance may result in a fine and other penalties. For information, call (213) 974-1093.

Accommodations: American Sign Language (ASL) interpreters or assisted listening devices are available with at least 3-business days' notice before the meeting date. Agendas in Braille and/or alternate formats are available upon request. Please telephone (562) 940-2531 from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday.

Copies of agendas, minutes and other documents discussed in commission proceeding can be obtained by contacting the Probation Department at (562) 940-2754.

Para información en español: Por favor de llamar al número (562) 940-2531 entre 8:00 de la mañana y 5:00 de la tarde, de Lunes a Viernes.

Commissioners

Joe Gardner-President,

Hon. Jan Levine (Ret)-1st Vice President, Daniel Seaver-2nd Vice President, Donald Meredith-Sergeant at Arms, Azael Martinez-Sonoqui, Cyn Yamashiro, Esq., Jacqueline Caster, Esq. Jo Kaplan, Esq. Olivia E. Mitchell, Peter Shutan, Zachary Hoover, Hon. Betsy Butler (Ret.), Hon. Alex Saab, Esq. Randy Herbon, Jessica Quintana