

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES PROBATION COMMISSION 9150 EAST IMPERIAL HIGHWAY DOWNEY, CALIFORNIA 90242 (562) 940-2754



NOTICE OF REGULAR MEETING

DATE: Thursday, January 11, 2018

TIME: 10:00 a.m. – Regular Meeting

12:00 a.m. – Adjournment

WHERE: Kenneth Hahn Hall of Administration

Room 743

Los Angeles, California 90012

The meetings of the Commission are open to the public. Members of the public may address the Commission on any agenda item or item of interest, which are within the subject matter of the Commission by submitting a written request to the Probation Department prior to the meeting. Three (3) minutes are allowed, per person, on each agenda and non-agenda item, with a total of 15 minutes for public comments on each agenda and non-agenda item, unless the Commission sets alternative limits or other allocations of time.

- 1. Call to order and roll call of Commissioners
 - Excused absences:
- 2. Approval of Minutes
 - October 12th, 2017
- 3. Los Angeles County Probation Department presentations and responses, including progress reports to previous inspection reports and inquiries.
 - Grievance presentation including Ombudsman by Deputy Chief S. Mitchell. Q&A and discussion of Bureau of Justice Statistics, Special Report (motion by Commissioner Caster. (Hand-out distributed at previous meeting)
 - Status update on the integration of female youth into Kilpatrick (motion by Commissioner Seaver. Pending response from D. Mitchell)

4. Public Comment

 Three (3) minutes are allowed, per person, on each agenda and non-agenda item, with a total of 15 minutes for public comments on each agenda and non-agenda item

5. Old Business

- Progress report from Mental health committee: formulation of questions for DMH response on 1-25-2018
- Progress report from Commissioner Caster re: Departmental response to Board Memorandum: Ensuring effective utilization of Juvenile Justice Crime Prevention Act and SB678 Funds-First Quarterly Report.

Commissioners

Joe Gardner-President,

Hon. Jan Levine (Ret)-1st Vice President, Daniel Seaver-2nd Vice President, Donald Meredith-Sergeant at Arms, Azael Martinez-Sonoqui, Cyn Yamashiro, Esq., Jacqueline Caster, Esq. Jo Kaplan, Esq. Olivia E. Mitchell, Peter Shutan, Zachary Hoover, Hon. Betsy Butler (Ret.), Hon. Alex Saab, Esq.



COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES PROBATION COMMISSION 9150 EAST IMPERIAL HIGHWAY DOWNEY, CALIFORNIA 90242 (562) 940-2754



6. New Business

- Discussion of using Commission Letterhead on inspection report documents.
- Discussion and formation of Work Plan Subcommittee that includes the outline of procedures for processing and scheduling requests for information from the Probation Department and agencies associated with the Probation Department. (recommendation discussion by Commissioner Seaver)
- Discussion of Commission's goals for 2018.
- 7. Announcements
- 8. Adjourn

Next Meeting: Thursday, January 25, 2018 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Hall of Records 320 W. Temple St, Los Angeles CA,90012 Room 150, 1st Floor, Regional Planning Conference Room Los Angeles, California, 90012

Attention: Any person, who seeks support or endorsement from the Commission of any official action, may be subject to the provisions of Los Angeles County Code, Chapter 2.160, relating to lobbyists. Violation of the Lobbyist Ordinance may result in a fine and other penalties. For information, call (213) 974-1093.

Accommodations: American Sign Language (ASL) interpreters or assisted listening devices are available with at least 3-business days' notice before the meeting date. Agendas in Braille and/or alternate formats are available upon request. Please telephone (562) 940-2531 from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday.

Copies of agendas, minutes and other documents discussed in commission proceeding can be obtained by contacting the Probation Department at (562) 940-2754.

Para información en español: Por favor de llamar al número (562) 940-2531 entre 8:00 de la mañana y 5:00 de la tarde, de Lunes a Viernes.

Commissioners

Joe Gardner-President,

Hon. Jan Levine (Ret)-1st Vice President, Daniel Seaver-2nd Vice President, Donald Meredith-Sergeant at Arms, Azael Martinez-Sonoqui, Cyn Yamashiro, Esq., Jacqueline Caster, Esq. Jo Kaplan, Esq. Olivia E. Mitchell, Peter Shutan, Zachary Hoover, Hon. Betsy Butler (Ret.), Hon. Alex Saab, Esq.