



NOTICE OF REGULAR MEETING

DATE: Thursday, August 24, 2017

TIME: 10:00 a.m. – Regular Meeting 12:00 a.m. – Adjournment

WHERE: Kenneth Hahn Hall of Administration Room 140A Los Angeles, California 90012

The meetings of the Commission are open to the public. Members of the public may address the Commission on any agenda item or item of interest, which are within the subject matter jurisdiction of the Commission by submitting a written request to the Probation Department prior to the meeting. Three (3) minutes are allowed, per person, on each agenda and non-agenda item, with a total of 15 minutes for public comments on each agenda and non-agenda item, unless the Commission sets alternative limits or other allocations of time.

- 1. Call to order and roll call of Commissioners
 - Excused absences: Commissioners Caster and Seaver
- 2. Approval of Minutes
 - June 8, 2017
- 3. Los Angeles County Probation Department presentations and responses, including progress reports to previous inspection reports and inquiries.
 - Education Services update from Superintendent Debra Duardo and Director Jesus Corral
- 4. Old Business
 - Committee Reports: Mental Health
- 5. New Business
 - Discussion regarding adult-side post-release supervision.
 - Article-Hahn, Barger Propose Blue Ribbon Commission on Public Safety
- 6. Announcements
 - Campus inspection reports due November 13th
 - Reminder to email Quarterly Recap Submissions
 - Annual election of Commission officers December 14th

Commissioners

Joe Gardner-President,

Hon. Jan Levine (Ret)-1st Vice President, Daniel Seaver-2nd Vice President, Donald Meredith-Sergeant at Arms, Azael Martinez-Sonoqui, Cyn Yamashiro, Esq., Jacqueline Caster, Esq. Jo Kaplan, Esq. Olivia E. Mitchell, Peter Shutan, Zachary Hoover, Hon. Betsy Butler (Ret.), Hon. Rex Richardson, Hon. Alex Saab, Esq.



COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES PROBATION COMMISSION 9150 EAST IMPERIAL HIGHWAY DOWNEY, CALIFORNIA 90242 (562) 940-2754



7. Public Comment

8. Adjourn

<u>Next Meeting:</u> Thursday, September 14, 2017 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Kenneth Hahn Hall of Administration 500 West Temple Street Room 830 Los Angeles, California, 90012

Attention: Any person, who seeks support or endorsement from the Commission of any official action, may be subject to the provisions of Los Angeles County Code, Chapter 2.160, relating to lobbyists. Violation of the Lobbyist Ordinance may result in a fine and other penalties. For information, call (213) 974-1093.

Accommodations: American Sign Language (ASL) interpreters or assisted listening devices are available with at least 3-business days' notice before the meeting date. Agendas in Braille and/or alternate formats are available upon request. Please telephone (562) 940-2531 from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday.

Copies of agendas, minutes and other documents discussed in commission proceeding can be obtained by contacting the Probation Department at (562) 940-2754.

Para información en español: Por favor de llamar al número (562) 940-2531 entre 8:00 de la mañana y 5:00 de la tarde, de Lunes a Viernes.

Commissioners Joe Gardner-President,

Hon. Jan Levine (Ret)-1st Vice President, Daniel Seaver-2nd Vice President, Donald Meredith-Sergeant at Arms, Azael Martinez-Sonoqui, Cyn Yamashiro, Esq., Jacqueline Caster, Esq. Jo Kaplan, Esq. Olivia E. Mitchell, Peter Shutan, Zachary Hoover, Hon. Betsy Butler (Ret.), Hon. Rex Richardson, Hon. Alex Saab, Esq.