

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES PROBATION COMMISSION

9150 EAST IMPERIAL HIGHWAY, DOWNEY, CALIFORNIA 90242 (562) 940-2754



NOTICE OF REGULAR MEETING

- DATE: Thursday, October 27, 2016
- TIME: 10:00 a.m. Regular Meeting 12:00 p.m. – Adjournment

WHERE: Kenneth Hahn Hall of Administration 500 West Temple Street 1st Floor, Room 140A Los Angeles, California 90012

The meetings of the Commission are open to the public. Members of the public may address the Commission on any agenda item or on its item of interest, which are within the subject matter jurisdiction of the Commission by submitting a written request to the Probation Department prior to the meeting. Three (3) minutes are allowed, per person, on each agenda and non-agenda item, with a total of 15 minutes for public comments on each agenda and non-agenda item, unless the Commission sets alternative limits or other allocations of time.

- 1. Call to order and roll call of Commissioners
- 2. Los Angeles County Probation Department presentations and responses, including progress reports to previous inspection reports and inquiries.
 - Nutritional Guidelines
- 3. New Business
 - Discussion regarding the re-naming of Camp Kilpatrick (motion by Commissioner Yamashiro) 10-27
- 4. Old Business
 - Organizational rules (bylaws) discussion and vote on amendments and corrections
 - Juvenile Traffic Court follow up discussion (Motion by Commissioner Yamashiro)
 - Review of presentation to Probation Oversight Committee for the Board of Supervisors workgroup
 - Reminder to email Monthly Recap Submissions
- 5. Commission Inspection Reports
- 6. Approval of Minutes
 - September. 22, 2016
 - October 13, 2016

7. Announcements

- Notification of intent to hold Commission elections on December 8th
- Actors' Gang 10-29
- 8. Public Comments
- 9. Adjourn

Next Meeting: Thursday, November 10, 2016 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Kenneth Hahn Hall of Administration 500 West Temple Street 1st Floor, Room 140A Los Angeles, California, 90012

Attention: Any person, who seeks support or endorsement from the Commission of any official action, may be subject to the provisions of Los Angeles County Code, Chapter 2.160, relating to lobbyists. Violation of the Lobbyist Ordinance may result in a fine and other penalties. For information, call (213) 974-1093.

Accommodations: American Sign Language (ASL) interpreters or assisted listening devices are available with at least 3business days' notice before the meeting date. Agendas in Braille and/or alternate formats are available upon request. Please telephone (562) 940-2531 from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday.

Copies of agendas, minutes and other documents discussed in commission proceeding can be obtained by contacting the Probation Department at (562) 940-2754.

Para información en español: Por favor de llamar al número (562) 940-2531 entre 8:00 de la mañana y 5:00 de la tarde, de Lunes a Viernes.

COMMISSIONERS

Joe Gardner – President Jan Levine – First Vice President, Clay Hollopeter – Second Vice, Dan Seaver – Third Vice President Lt. Don Meredith, Cyn Yamashiro, Esq. Fitzgerald Jones, Gabriella Holt, R.N., E.J.D, Jo Kaplan, Esq., Olivia E. Mitchell, Peter Shutan, Azael Martinez Sonoqui, Zachary Hoover, Jacqueline Caster, Esq., Elizabeth (Betsy) Butler





COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES PROBATION COMMISSION

9150 EAST IMPERIAL HIGHWAY, DOWNEY, CALIFORNIA 90242 (562) 940-2754

PENDING AGENDA ITEMS FOR REPORTS AND RESPONSES

- Board Briefing 3rd Quarter
- Records in regards to the use of force such and pepper spray within Juvenile Halls and camps (motion by Commissioner Seaver)
- New Direction Program and expenditures (motion by Commissioner Caster)
- Kilpatrick Campus, LA Model Presentation (as requested by Deputy Chief Mitchell)
- Expenditures made under Welfare and Institutions Code 236, Juvenile Delinquency Prevention. Request for report on expenditures and criteria from Chief Harada. (motion by Commissioner Yamashiro)
- Progress report from Bureau Chief Carroll regarding incident notification to Commission Specific request for outline of procedure for notifying commission (motion by Commissioner Levine)

COMMISSIONERS

Joe Gardner – President Jan Levine – First Vice President, Clay Hollopeter – Second Vice, Dan Seaver – Third Vice President Lt. Don Meredith, Cyn Yamashiro, Esq. Fitzgerald Jones, Gabriella Holt, R.N., E.J.D, Jo Kaplan, Esq., Olivia E. Mitchell, Peter Shutan, Azael Martinez Sonoqui, Zachary Hoover, Jacqueline Caster, Esq., Elizabeth (Betsy) Butler