Agn.	No.	

MOTION BY SUPERVISOR HILDA L. SOLIS

June 11, 2019

PHILIPPINE INDEPENDENCE DAY

Throughout history, the Philippine Day of Independence has varied. In the late 19th century, Filipino intellectuals, priests, and members of the middle class began to rebel against the Spanish forces that controlled the Philippine archipelago. The exposure to global trade, coupled with some of the abuses that resulted from colonial rule, led to the growth of nationalism among Filipinos.

Plans for rebellion against the Spanish Government began in 1892 with the forming of a secret revolutionary society in Manila. As their membership grew, plans of rebellion were uncovered, and in early 1897 revolts broke out. Then only 28 years old, Emilio Aguinaldo became the leader of the rebellion. By the end of 1897, the rebellion had been driven back and Aguinaldo had no options but to negotiate with Spain. The rebellion was temporarily ended when Aguinaldo came to an agreement with Spain that he and his generals would be exiled to Hong Kong in exchange for financial compensation and promise of reform in the Philippines.

After American forces defeated the Spanish during the Spanish-American War, Aguinaldo returned from exile and declared June 12, 1898 as the day of independence. Despite their declaration, the Philippines were not internationally recognized as an independent nation. Spain ceded the Philippines to the United States in the Treaty of Paris.

After numerous rebellions and treaties it was not until July 4th, 1946 that full independence was granted to the Republic of the Philippines. Sixteen years later, Philippine President Diosdado Macapagal issued a Presidential Proclamation that declared June 12th as Philippine Independence Day and July 4th as Philippine Republic Day. 2019 marks the 57th anniversary of Philippine Independence Day as proclaimed by then Philippine President Diosdado Macapagal in 1962.

MOTION

I, THEREFORE, MOVE that the Board of Supervisors proclaim June 12, 2019 as "Philippine Independence Day" throughout Los Angeles County.

<u> </u>	
SOLIS	
RIDLEY-THOMAS	
KUEHL	
BARGER	
HAHN	