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TO OUR  

GROWERS 
 

This guide provides general information on what is required of a          

grower who uses pesticides or has pesticides applied by a pest 

control business (PCB) for the production of agricultural and 

ornamental commodities. 

 

Specific information can be provided by your County Agricultural 

Inspector.  Information is also contained in the Pesticide Safety 

Information Series (PSIS) A-1 through A-8 which can be obtained 

from your Agricultural Inspector or the California Department of 

Pesticide Regulation (CDPR) website.   

 

You will find this guide to be very helpful in understanding the laws 

and regulations pertaining to the use of pesticides in these situations. 

 

For more information and updates, you can access these websites: 
 

               

             

Los Angeles County Department  of  

Agricultural Commissioner/Weights & Measures (ACWM)            

acwm.lacounty.gov 

California Department of Pesticide Regulation (CDPR)                                                                                 

www.cdpr.ca.gov 

California Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) 

https://www.dir.ca.gov 

http://acwm.lacounty.gov/wps/portal/acwm
http://www.cdpr.ca.gov/
http://www.cdpr.ca.gov/


 3 

BASIC REQUIREMENTS 
 

 
 

“Operator of the Property” is a person who owns the property and/or 

is legally entitled to possess or use the property through the terms of 

a lease, rental contract, trust or other management agreement.   

 

Whether you apply pesticides yourself or hire a PCB to apply         

pesticides to the property, prior to the purchase and use of            

pesticides, the operator at the beginning of each and every year: 

 

MUST OBTAIN AN OPERATOR ID NUMBER  (Op - ID) 

 

Or if you intend to use a California Restricted Pesticide: 

 

OBTAIN A RESTRICTED MATERIALS PERMIT (RMP) 

 

Owners (employers) who apply pesticides are exempt from          

worker safety regulations; however, you must comply with all        

label requirements, including ones specifying personal protective 

equipment (PPE).  

 

Owners must comply with all of the following requirements listed in 

the booklet regardless of who applies the pesticides. 

 
     CCR § 6420, 6622 

 
For more detailed information:  

See CCR and PSIS references listed at the end of each page. 

 

CCR  - California Code of Regulations  

Title 3. Food and Agriculture, Division 6. Pesticides and Pest Control Operations 

Title 8. Industrial Relations, Division 1. Cal/OSHA 

(§ - section) 

  

  PSIS - Pesticide Safety Information Series 

           California Department of Pesticide Regulation (CDPR) 
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RECORD KEEPING 
 

 

Maintain the following for 1 year: 

 Recommendations.  A recommendation is required for any           
agricultural use unless the application is made by the property    
operator or his/her employees.  It can be written by a Pest Control 
Adviser or the owner of the property.  

 

Maintain the following for 2 years: 

 Permits.  Operator ID or Restricted Materials Permit; make     
available for the inspector upon request. 

 Pesticide Use Records (Daily).  A detailed record of each      
pesticide application is required.  The totals from these                
applications are compiled into the Monthly Summary Pesticide     
Use Report (MSPUR). 

 Training Records.  Training records and the written training     
program must be available at a central location at the workplace.  
It is the employer’s responsibility to make sure it is accessible by          
employees.  

 Application-Specific Information for Fieldworkers.             

The information must be displayed when the operator of the     

property receives notice of the completion of an application and  

before any fieldworkers are allowed to enter the treated field.  

     CCR § 6438, 6440,6624, 6626, 6724 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 5 

CalAgPermits 
 

 

The CalAgPermits system is a comprehensive tool for counties         

to manage pesticide permit and use report data with integrated      

mapping.  It is used by all 58 counties and is fully web-based.   

 

It is a money saving advancement, funded by the California           

Agricultural Commissioners and Sealers Association (CACASA)        

and the California Department of Pesticide Regulation (CDPR). 

 

Use CalAgPermits to: 

  Access your current and past Permits/Operator ID’s 

  Print the permit and/or email it  

 Keep track of use reports, and instantly submit them to our      

office 

 Check the status of your reports: DRAFT, SUBMITTED,          

ACCEPTED 

 Submit notices of intent (NOI) 

 Access training videos that are specific to what you need 

 Access the CDPR website 

 

CDPR News has the latest on regulation changes, newly registered 

products, precautionary updates, such as Bee Protection, etc. 

 

 

Contact our office to get signed up today! 

(626) 575-5466  



6 

CalAgPermits 
Home Page   

1.  Use the “Enter a new Non-structural MSPUR’ link to your Monthly Summary Pesticide Use 

Report (MSPUR). 

2.  View your Permit Number or Operator Identification Number (Operator ID) here. 

3.  Do not use these tabs. 

4.  Use to submit a notice of intent (NOI). 

5.  Find all of your Pesticide Use Reports here. Reports that were started but not submitted     

will be under the “Drafts” column.  Click “View” to see your reports. 

 Property Operators are required to report all pesticide use by the 10th of the month    

following the month of use.  If you did not use any pesticides, you do not need to submit      

a report.  Remember, you are only responsible for reporting pesticide use performed by 

your department’s personnel.  Retain the records of pesticide use given to you by the 

hired pest control company.  Any questions, please contact us. 

 If you have any problems completing and/or submitting your report, or have submitted    

a report in error, please call us.  We can walk you through the report and reject the    

report so you can correct and resubmit it; we can also fix it over the phone.  
                             

Call (626)575-5466 for assistance 

1 

2 

1 

2 

3 

4

5
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CalAgPermits 
Use Report Form   

 

1.   Choose your Operator ID or Permit # from the drop-down menu. 

2.   Enter the application date & time. 

3.   Select the application method.  It should almost always be “Ground.” 

4.   Select the site ID # & commodity treated.  For weed control, select “Non-Ag.” 

5.   Enter the treated area and select the units. 

6.   Start typing in the EPA registration number or name of the pesticide.  The more  

you type in, the shorter the list will get.  Select the correct pesticide by clicking on 

it in the list. 

7.   Enter the amount of the pesticide used (concentrate) and select a unit of  measure 

from the drop-down menu. 

8.   Click on one of the 5 buttons to complete the line and continue to “Next”                          

or “Finish.”  The line will then appear in the green box below. 
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TRAINING 
 
 

 

HANDLERS  - "“Handle" means mixing, loading, cleaning, repairing or applying of 

pesticides; or maintaining, servicing, repairing, cleaning, or handling equipment used in 

these activities.  

If you have employees who handle pesticides (handlers) or who work in a field where 

pesticides are applied (fieldworkers), you must train them before they are allowed to 

handle pesticides or enter a treated field. All training must be done by a qualified per-

son* including any of the following: 

* A qualified person is 

 Private applicator 

 Commercial applicator  

 County Agricultural Inspector  

 UC Extension Advisor 

 Pest control adviser 

 Registered forester 

 A person who has completed a "Training the Trainer” program  

HANDLERS 

 Pesticide handlers must be trained every year and be continually      
updated to cover any new pesticides that will be handled.  

 The handler’s written training program must describe the materials    
and information that will be provided, and address specific topics.  

 The employer must record the date and extent of the training. This 
training must be verified by the employee’s signature.  

 The employer must display a completed PSIS A-8 whenever employees 
are working as handlers.  

 

FIELDWORKERS 

 Fieldworkers must be trained every year and before beginning work     

in a treated field.  

 The fieldworker’s written training program must describe the materials 

and information that will be provided, and address specific topics.  

 The employer must record the date and extent of the training. This 

training must be verified by the employee’s signature.  

 The employer must display a completed PSIS A-9 whenever             

employees are working as fieldworkers.  

             CCR § 6724 , 6764        PSIS A-8 
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LABELS 
 

 

THE LABEL IS THE LAW 

A copy of the registered pesticide label must be available at the work site.      
Special Local Need (SLN) registrations are supplemental labeling instructions for 
additional uses authorized by CDPR.  The SLN must be in possession of the user 
at the time of the application.  

Label exemptions for special local needs and emergency conditions are provided 
by CDPR or US EPA.  

 

When to read the label: 

  Before buying the pesticide 

  When planning for the season of pesticide applications 

  Before mixing and applying the pesticide 

  When storing the pesticide 

  Before disposing of unused pesticide and the empty container 

Personal protective equipment (PPE) requirements, environmental     
concerns, emergency procedures, site/rate instructions, to name a few, 
provide vital information which the user must follow. 
 

Conflict with labeling: 

       Any deviation from instructions except: 

  A decrease in dosage rate per unit treated 

  A decrease in the concentration of the mixture applied 

  Application at a frequency less than specified 

  Use to control a target pest not listed, provided the target site is listed 

 

When using a California restricted material, a notice of intent (NOI) must           
be submitted to our office. NOI’s are required at least 24 hours prior to             
an application. Certain restricted pesticides will require NOI’s of an                    
earlier notification. These conditions are specified on the permit.  

CCR § 6000, 6434, 6602      7 FAC 12973 
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FIELD POSTING 
 

 

“Field Posting” as defined in CCR 6776, is in addition to the regulations listed 

on the page prior.  Certain pesticides used, or the way in which they are used, 

prompt additional requirements; read pesticide product labeling for information.   

The owner or property operator must post treated fields and greenhouses in the          

following circumstances:  

 

1st:  Whenever required by the pesticide product labeling, unless access to the field is 

controlled in a manner that assures no employee (other than the handlers making 

the application) will enter, work in, remain in, or walk within 1/4 mile during the 

application and the restricted entry interval.  

 

2nd: All greenhouse applications unless entry is controlled.  

3rd:  All other application in enclosed space with an REI great than 4 hours. 

4th:  Any application that has and REI of 48 hours or greater. 

5th:   There are new notification requirements if treated field is within 1/4 mile of a 

school site. 

Post at the usual points of entry, or at the corner.  If adjacent to right-of-ways,       

posted at not greater than 600 foot intervals. 

 Post before application begins; however, do not post unless a pesticide           

application is scheduled within the next 24 hours.  

Posting must be removed within 3 days after the expiration of the REI.  

There are additional regulations when posting is required for REI’s greater     

than 7 days. 

Chemigation applications require additional posting information.  

  See CCR 6776 for greater detail. 

          

 

 

 

 

 

           

            CCR § 6618, 6619, 6776, 6784 

 

Treated field and  

greenhouse sign requirements 

Field fumigation sign requirements 

 

DANGER                          PELIGRO                                                        

PESTCIDES                PESTICIDAS          

KEEP  OUT          NO ENTRE 

DANGER                          PELIGRO                                                        

PESTCIDES                PESTICIDAS          

KEEP  OUT                  NO ENTRE 

AREA UNDER FUMIGATION 

Name of Fumigant 

Fumigant in Use 

Time & Date of Application 

Name, Address &  

Phone # of Applicator 
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POSTING VITAL  

INFORMATION 
Treated Field (CCR 6000): A field that has been treated with a pesticide or had a re-

stricted  entry interval in effect within the last 30 days.  A treated field includes associ-

ated roads, paths, ditches borders, headlands, if the pesticide was also directed to 

those areas.  A treated field   does not include areas inadvertently contaminated by drift 

or overspray. 

 The employer must display a completed PSIS A-8 and A-9 at the field or       

a central location whenever employees are working as handlers or            

fieldworkers in a “treated field.”  

 The “Application Specific “information must be displayed when the         

APPLICATION-SPECIFIC INFORMATION (EXAMPLE) 

  Crop or    

Site Treated  

Field                     

ID # 

Application     

Date  

Start & 

End Time 

REI Product             

Name   

EPA Reg 

# 

Active               

Ingredient 

Spray              

Adjuvant 

   Grapes 

 

117 1/10/21 

 

  6:00 am       

10:00 am 

  8   Uvacure 123-456  Carbine (If applicable)            

No Foam B 

 Post the Safety Data Sheet(s) for the applied pesticide(s). 

 Make a map of the growing location, and designate each area with a         

numbering system.  When an application is made, reference the area        

treated on the table. 

 Make sure single use towels, clean water and soap must available within        

1/4 mile of the application site.  Be sure to have the station away from      

where pesticide applications take place, to avoid contamination. 

 

     CCR § 6619, 6761 
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EMERGENCY 

MEDICAL CARE 

 

Emergency medical care for employees handling pesticides must be planned for 
in advance.  

The medical care information, PSIS A-8 and/or A-9, must be posted at a      

prominent place at the work site.  These are available in English and Spanish. 

Fieldworkers and their supervisors are to be informed of this information, which 

is provided on PSIS A-9. You can either complete the forms with the medical 

provider’s information, or post the medical information next to the A-8/A-9 form. 

In either case, if the medical care facility is not readily available, procedures to 
be followed to obtain immediate medical care must be given.  

Respiratory Protection Program  

 The use of respirators also requires a special medical evaluation and               
supervision, record keeping, equipment maintenance, and care.  

             

Additional Medical Records  

 The use of carbamates and organophosphates with “Warning” or “Danger”   

labels may require special medical supervision, record keeping and         

equipment.  

           CCR § 6726, 6728, 6739, 6766     PSIS A-8, A-9 

 

 

 

If you think         
pesticides have 

made you sick at 

work, 

your employer 

must make sure 

that you are tak-

en 

to the doctor 

IMMEDIATELY. 
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DECONTAMINATION 
 

 

For handlers, the employer must assure that sufficient water, soap,* and single 

use towels* are available.  

If coveralls are being used, the employer must make provisions to store and 

clean the coveralls. Employees should not be taking coveralls home, unless it is 

necessary. It is recommended that the work clothes be kept in a sturdy, sealed 

container, until they can be properly washed at the work facility.  

*   Hand sanitizing gels, liquids, and wet towelettes do not meet the requirements. 

Change Areas  

The decontamination site for employees handling pesticides for uses other than 

the commercial or research production of an agricultural plant commodity shall 

be within 100 feet of the mixing/loading site when they are handling pesticides 

with the signal word "WARNING" or "DANGER" on the label.          

           

         CCR§ 6732       

HEAT ILLNESS 

PREVENTION 

When employees work in hot conditions, employers must take special           

precautions in order to prevent heat illness. Employers of outdoor workers  

must comply with the Cal/OSHA Heat Illness Prevention (HIP) standard. 

            8 CCR § 3395 

See Department of Industrial Relations for more information  

See http://www.dir.ca.gov/DOSH/HeatIllnessInfo.html  

              

             

1.  Recognize the hazard 4.  Prompt medical attention 

2.  Water. Shade. Rest. 5.  Training 

3.  Acclimatization 6.  Written procedures 

See%20http:/www.dir.ca.gov/DOSH/HeatIllnessInfo.html
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PERSONAL PROTECTIVE 

EQUIPMENT (PPE) 
 

“Label” and the “Law” (Regulation) 

 The pesticide label addresses specific PPE for the Mixer/Loader,                 

the Applicator, and the Early Entry Worker.   

 The employer must provide the employee with the label and regulation        

required PPE.  

 Eye protection is required by regulation, for all “hand applications.”                   

ANSI Z87.1-2010 must be worn.  Safety glasses must provide front,               

brow, and temple protection. 

Common eyeglasses, including sunglasses, do not meet this requirement. 

 Protective gloves are required by regulation unless the label states           

otherwise. Gloves must be 14mils or thicker. New regulations state that      

the label will also address what type of material the gloves shall be               

constructed of.  See glove card below. 

 Employers must assure employees are provided with and use approved         

respiratory protective equipment (RPE) when pesticide product labeling or  

regulations require RPE.  The use of respirators requires a medical evaluation.   

    There are exemptions.  See PSIS A-1 for those exemptions. 

 Owners (employers) who apply pesticides are exempt from worker safety 

regulations; however, you must comply with all label requirements including 

those specifying personal protective equipment (PPE).  

Using “DANGER” and “WARNING” Labeled Pesticides  

 Coveralls must be used when an employee handles a pesticide with the      

signal word “WARNING” or “DANGER” on the label. Exceptions include: use   

of a closed system or working from an enclosed cab or cockpit.  

          CCR § 6738, 6739            PSIS N-1  
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EQUIPMENT,  

STORAGE, & DISPOSAL 
Equipment 

The employer must inspect all application equipment and make sure that it    

is in good condition and safe to operate prior to any application. For example, 

mixing tanks must have covers to prevent splashes and spills. Tanks 50     

gallons or greater must be equipped with either a sight gauge to indicate the 

liquid level in the tank, or a shut-off device that will automatically stop the   

filling operation before the pesticide liquid mixture spills over the top.  

 

Storage  

PPE must be stored separately from pesticides and application equipment to 

prevent contamination. Pesticides must remain locked up when not attended.  

The storage of pesticides must have distinct separation from other stored   

materials. The storage must be posted with warning signs, when the stored 

pesticides have the signal word “WARNING” or “DANGER” on the label.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Disposal Procedures  

Containers of less than 28 gallons must be rinsed and drained at the mix/load 

site. Except for the containers to be returned to the registrant or dealer, follow 

the directions provided in PSIS N-2.  

Do not refill or reuse original containers. Destroy canisters and discard in a     

sanitary landfill.  

Do not put pesticides in containers designated for                             

food, drink, or household products.       
       

         CCR § 6608, 6674, 6684, 6742                      PSIS N-2    

Signs must be visible from any direction 

of  probable approach, and be readable 

at 25 feet.  The notice shall be repeated 

in an appropriate language other than     

English when it may reasonably be       

anticipated that persons who do not      

understand the English language will 

come to the enclosure.  
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AIR-GAP SEPARATION 
   

All equipment must be equipped with an air-gap separation backflow prevention device 

when handling pesticides and drawing water directly from any outside source. Air-Gap 

Separation is a physical break between the supply line and the receiving vessel.          

(This is the only method that is accepted by all water and health agencies).  

  CCR § 6610, 6630, 6672, 6674, 6678, 6742, 6744 

7

21

3

5

4

6

Backpack type spray equipment with a capacity 

not exceeding 4 gallons and hand-held sprayers 

of 3 gallons or less are exempt. They may be 

filled by hand-holding a hose over the tank. The 

hose or water container must be held well above 

the tank at all times to prevent contact with the 

tank or its contents. 

1.  Air-gap must be at least 1” or twice     the 

diameter of the inlet pipe size. 

5.  A pest control operator’s vehicle must be      

identified with company name or PCO number. 

2.  Service container tag with the name of the 

pesticide(s) and the signal word. 

6.  Tank lid to prevent splashes and spills; it should 

be lockable for DANGER or WARNING pesticides. 

3.  Sight gauge. 7.  Pesticide storage sign required for DANGER or  

WARNING pesticides. 

4.  Pipe permanently attached with clamps to 

the spray tank or the side of the vehicle. 
 



 Credit given to: 

US EPA: Read the Label logo 

Cal/OSHA: Cal/OSHA logo, Heat Illness  Prevention logo  

Photographs: Ed Williams, Richard Sokulksy, Malibu Family Wines 

CDPR: DPR logo, CalAgPermits logo, CA School IPM logo, PSIS, School Posting, Glove Card 

REMEMBER: 

 

 

THIS IS A GENERAL GUIDE.  

 

LAWS AND REGULATIONS ARE  

PERIODICALLY UPDATED.  

 

THERE IS NO SUBSTITUTE FOR KNOWING THE 

LAWS & REGULATIONS THAT GOVERN PESTICIDE USE. 

  

IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS, CONTACT YOUR                        

AREA AGRICULTURAL PESTICIDE INSPECTOR.  

 

 

Sincerely,  

 

Erin Zavala, Deputy Director  

Environmental Protection Bureau 

 

 

 

County of Los Angeles Department of  

Agricultural Commissioner/Weights and Measures 



2021 

 

For more information and updates, you can access these websites: 

County Agricultural Commissioner  

acwm.lacounty.gov 

California Department of Pesticide Regulation  

www.cdpr.ca.gov 
 

CDPR has updated the materials available for training pesticide handlers and fieldworkers.   
 

Search for: 

Compliance Assistance Booklets for Employers 

http://www.cdpr.ca.gov/docs/enforce/cmpliast/bkltmenu.htm 

The set of eight booklets cover various topics, and are offered in English and Spanish. 

 

Pesticide Safety Information Series (PSIS A1 - A10) 

http://www.cdpr.ca.gov/docs/whs/psisenglish.htm 

These leaflets include the mandatory A-8, A-9, offered in English, Spanish, and Punjab. 

http://www.cdpr.ca.gov/docs/whs/psisenglish.htm
http://www.cdpr.ca.gov/docs/whs/psisenglish.htm

