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TO OUR  

PROPERTY 

OPERATORS 

 
 

This guide provides general information on what is required of a          

property operator who uses pesticides or has pesticides applied      

by a pest control business (PCB) for the maintenance of                      

turf and landscape. 

 

Specific information can be provided by your County Agricultural 

Inspector.  Information is also contained in the Pesticide Safety 

Information Series (PSIS) N-1 through N-8 which can be obtained 

from your Agricultural Inspector or the California Department of 

Pesticide Regulation (CDPR) website.   

 

You will find this guide to be very helpful in understanding the laws 

and regulations pertaining to the use of pesticides in these situations. 

 

For more information and updates, you can access these websites: 
 

               

Los Angeles County Department of  

Agricultural Commissioner/Weights & Measures (ACWM)            

acwm.lacounty.gov 

California Department of Pesticide Regulation (CDPR)                                                                                 

www.cdpr.ca.gov 

California Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) 

https://www.dir.ca.gov 

http://acwm.lacounty.gov/wps/portal/acwm
http://www.cdpr.ca.gov/
http://www.cdpr.ca.gov/
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BASIC REQUIREMENTS 
 

 
 

“Operator of the Property” is a person who owns the property and/

or is legally entitled to possess or use the property through the terms 

of a lease, rental contract, trust or other management agreement.   

 

Whether you apply pesticides yourself or hire a PCB to apply         

pesticides to the property, prior to the purchase and use of            

pesticides, the operator at the beginning of each and every year: 

 

MUST OBTAIN AN OPERATOR ID NUMBER  (Op - ID) 

 

Or if you intend to use a California Restricted Pesticide: 

 

OBTAIN A RESTRICTED MATERIALS PERMIT (RMP) 

 

Owners (employers) who apply pesticides are exempt from          

worker safety regulations; however, you must comply with all        

label requirements, including ones specifying personal protective 

equipment (PPE).  

 

Owners must comply with all of the following requirements listed     

in the booklet regardless of who applies the pesticides. 

 
     CCR § 6420, 6622 
 
For more detailed information:  

See FAC, CCR, and PSIS references listed at the end of each page. 

 

FAC  - Food and Agricultural Code (FAC)    (§ - section) 

Division 7.  Agricultural Chemicals 

 

CCR  - California Code of Regulations    

Title 3. Food and Agriculture, Division 6. Pesticides and Pest Control Operations 

Title 8. Industrial Relations, Division 1. Cal/OSHA 

  

PSIS - Pesticide Safety Information Series 

California Department of Pesticide Regulation (CDPR) 
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RECORD KEEPING 
 

 

Maintain the following for 1 year: 

 

 Recommendations.  A recommendation is required for any           
agricultural use unless the application is made by the property    
operator or his/her employees.  It can be written by a Pest Control 
Adviser or the owner of the property.  

 

Maintain the following for 2 years: 

 

 Permits.  Operator ID or Restricted Materials Permit; make     
available for the inspector upon request. 

 Pesticide Use Records (Daily).  A detailed record of each      
pesticide application is required.  The totals from these                
applications are compiled into the Monthly Summary Pesticide     
Use Report (MSPUR). 

 Training Records.  Training records and the written training     
program must be available at a central location at the workplace.  
It is the employer’s responsibility to make sure it is accessible by          
employees.  

   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

     3 CCR §  6624, 6724 
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RECOMMENDATIONS 
 

 

There is no requirement for the operator of the property to document his/her 

pest control decision making process or to have a copy of a recommendation     

for any agricultural use* of a pesticide made by the property operator or      

his/her employees.   

A pest control business (PCB) must have a copy of a recommendation before 

making an agricultural use application of a pesticide that requires a permit. 

If the recommendation is made by a licensed pest control adviser (PCA), the   

recommendation must be in writing and the PCA must provide a copy of the 

recommendation to the operator of the property. 

The property operator does not have to retain a copy of the recommendation.  

Usually a copy is given to the PCB by the property operator to satisfy this            

requirement.   

The property operator can prepare the recommendation document.  There is     

no PCA license requirement for the property operator. 

 

*Agricultural Use is defined as, “... the use of any pesticide, method or       

device for the control of plant or animal pests, or any other pests, or the   

use of any pesticide for the regulation of plant growth or defoliation of 

plants, for any purpose,”      

except for: 

   Use in a household or the immediate environment 

   A use requiring a Structural Pest Control License 

   Use for or in manufacturing, mining, or chemical process 

   Use within the confines of a building or on a property necessary for operations 

   Use under a veterinarian’s prescription 

   Use by certain Vector Control Districts 

 

All pest control use that does not fit into the listed non-agricultural use           

categories is agricultural use. This includes watersheds, rights-of-way,          

landscaped areas (golf courses, parks, recreation areas, cemeteries, etc.).  

    3 CCR § 6632 
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CalAgPermits 
 

 

The CalAgPermits system is a comprehensive tool for counties         

to manage pesticide permit and use report data with integrated      

mapping.  It is used by all 58 counties and is fully web-based.   

 

It is a money saving advancement, funded by the California           

Agricultural Commissioners and Sealers Association (CACASA)        

and the California Department of Pesticide Regulation (CDPR). 

 

Use CalAgPermits to: 

  Access your current and past Permits/Operator ID’s 

  Print the permit and/or email it  

 Keep track of use reports, and instantly submit them to our      

office 

 Check the status of your reports: DRAFT, SUBMITTED,          

ACCEPTED 

 Submit Notices of Intent (NOI) 

 Access training videos that are specific to what you need 

 Access the CDPR website 

 

CDPR News has the latest on regulation changes, newly registered 

products, precautionary updates, such as Bee Protection, etc. 

 

 

Contact our office to get signed up today! 

(626) 575-5466  
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CalAgPermits 
Home Page 

1.  Use the “Enter a new Non-structural MSPUR” link to your Monthly Summary Pesticide Use 

Report (MSPUR). 

2.  View your Permit Number or Operator Identification Number (Operator ID) here. 

3.  Do not use these tabs. 

4.  Use to submit a Notice of Intent (NOI). 

5.  Find all of your Pesticide Use Reports here. Reports that were started but not submitted     

will be under the “Drafts” column.  Click “View” to see your reports. 

 Property Operators are required to report all pesticide use by the 10th of the month    

following the month of use.  If you did not use any pesticides, you do not need to 

submit a report.  Remember, you are only responsible for reporting pesticide use  per-

formed by your department’s personnel.  Retain the records of pesticide use given   to 

you by the hired pest control company.  Any questions, please contact us. 

 If you have any problems completing and/or submitting your report, or have submitted    

a report in error, please call us.  We can walk you through the report and reject the    

report so you can correct and resubmit it; we can also fix it over the phone.  

                             

Call (626)575-5466 for assistance 

1 

2 

1 

2 

3 

4

5
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TRAINING 
 

 

 

HANDLERS 
"Handle" means mixing, loading, cleaning, repairing, or applying of pesticides; or            

maintaining, servicing, repairing, cleaning, or handling equipment used in these activities.  

 Training shall be completed before the employee is allowed to handle pesticides,           

continually updated to cover any new pesticides that will be handled, and                       

repeated at least annually thereafter.  

 The employer must record the date and extent of the training. This training must             

be verified by the employee’s signature.  

 The employer must display a completed PSIS N-8 whenever employees are working        

as handlers.  

 The handler’s written training program must describe the materials and information       

that will be provided, and address specific topics:  

 Information contained on labels and safety data sheets 

 Applicator’s responsibility to protect persons, animals, and property while                

applying pesticides 

 Use and care of personal protective equipment   

 Safety requirements and procedures for handling, transporting, storing,                 

disposing of pesticides, and spill clean-up 

 Where and in what forms pesticides may be encountered 

 Hazards of pesticides, including acute, chronic, delayed, and sensitization effects 

 Routes by which pesticides can enter the body 

 Signs and symptoms of overexposure 

 Routine decontamination procedures when handling pesticides 

 Hazard communication program requirements 

 First aid and emergency decontamination procedures 

 How and when to obtain emergency medical care 

 Prevention, recognition, and first aid for heat-related illness  

 That employees should not take pesticides or pesticide containers home from work 

 Environmental concerns such as drift, runoff, and wildlife hazards 

 Potential hazards to children and pregnant women from pesticide exposures 

 How to report suspected pesticide use violations & employee’s rights      

        3 CCR § 6600, 6724         PSIS N-8 
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LABELS 
 

 

THE LABEL IS THE LAW 

A copy of the registered pesticide label must be available at the work site.      
Special Local Need (SLN) registrations are supplemental labeling instructions for 
additional uses authorized by CDPR.  The SLN must be in possession of the user 
at the time of the application. Label exemptions for special local needs and     
emergency conditions are provided by CDPR or US EPA.  

See CDPR website for current California registered labels  

https://apps.cdpr.ca.gov/docs/label/labelque.cfm 
 

When to read the label: 

  Before buying the pesticide 

  When planning for the season of pesticide applications 

  Before mixing and applying the pesticide 

  When storing the pesticide 

  Before disposing of unused pesticide and the empty container 

Personal protective equipment (PPE) requirements, environmental      
concerns, emergency procedures, site/rate instructions, to name a few, 
provide vital information which the user must follow. 
 

Conflict with labeling: 

Any deviation from instructions except: 

  A decrease in dosage rate per unit treated 

  A decrease in the concentration of the mixture applied 

  Application at a frequency less than specified 

  Use to control a target pest not listed, provided the target site is listed 

 

When using a California restricted material, a notice of intent (NOI) must           
be submitted to our office. NOI’s are required at least 24 hours prior to             
an application. Certain restricted pesticides will require NOI’s of an                    
earlier notification. These conditions are specified on the permit.  

3 CCR § 6000, 6602, 6634       7 FAC 12973 
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HEALTHY SCHOOLS  

ACT 
CDPR's California School & Child Care Integrated Pest Management (IPM)      

Program promotes the adoption of integrated pest management practices in 

schools and child care centers and provides support for Healthy Schools Act  

compliance. 

 

Which types of schools and child care centers must follow the               

requirements of the Healthy Schools Act?  

Public K–12 schools  

Public and private child care centers  

Child care centers located at colleges, community colleges, and universities 

  

What are the general requirements to be followed? 

 Identify IPM Coordinator  

 Develop an IPM Plan  

 Provide annual written notification 

 Establish individual notification registry 

 Post warning signs  

 Keep records — 4 years 

 Send pesticide use reports to CDPR (you do not use CalAgPermits Program) 

 Don’t use prohibited pesticides 

 Complete training annually— Pesticide Safety Training and IPM Training  

            Educational Code § 17612   3 CCR § 6625, 6724   

 

 

 

 

 

 

  See CDPR IPM website for current updates  

https://apps.cdpr.ca.gov/schoolipm/main.cfm 
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SCHOOLSITE POSTING  
 

 

Post warning signs near location(s) where pesticides will be applied           

so that they are visible at all entrances to the treated area. 

 

Post signs at least 24 hours before the application 

           Leave up at least 72 hours after application, and then take down 
 

Signs must have required information: 

  Name of pesticide 

  Manufacturer’s name, US EPA registration number 

  Intended application date 

  Application date 

  Treated area, reason for treatment 

  School name 

  Contact information, name and title 

  Precautionary statements appropriate to materials used   

        Educational Code § 17612 

See website below for more information on the Healthy Schools Act and IPM 

https://apps.cdpr.ca.gov/schoolipm/ 

 New Regulations 

California has adopted regulations that address agricultural pesticide applications near public 

K-12 schools and licensed child day care centers (collectively referred to as schoolsites). 

These regulations provide minimum distance standards for certain agricultural pesticide      

applications near schoolsites and require annual notifications to schoolsites. The goal is to   

reduce the chances of unintended pesticide exposure to children and increase communication 

between growers, County Agricultural Commissioners, and schoolsites.  

     See website below for more information on Pesticide Use Near Schoolsites  

https://apps.cdpr.ca.gov/schoolipm/ 
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EMERGENCY 

MEDICAL CARE 

 

Emergency medical care for employees handling pesticides must be 
planned for in advance. 

 

The medical care information, PSIS N-8, must be posted at a prominent place   
at the work site.  These are available in English and Spanish.  You can either    
complete the forms with the medical provider’s information, or post the        
medical information next to the N-8 form. 

In either case, if the medical care facility is not readily available, procedures     
to be followed to obtain immediate medical care must be given.  

 

Respiratory Protection Program  

The use of respirators also requires a special medical evaluation and               
supervision, record keeping, equipment maintenance, and care.  

            3 CCR § 6726, 6739   

              PSIS N-8       

If you think         
pesticides have made 

you sick at work, 

your employer must 

make sure that you 

are taken 

to the doctor 

IMMEDIATELY. 
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DECONTAMINATION 
 

 

For handlers, the employer must assure that sufficient water, soap,* and single 

use towels* are reasonably available.  

If coveralls are being used, the employer must make provisions to store and 

clean the coveralls. Employees should not be taking coveralls home, unless it is 

necessary. It is recommended that the work clothes be kept in a sturdy, sealed 

container, until they can be properly washed at the work facility.  

*   Hand sanitizing gels, liquids, and wet towelettes do not meet the requirements. 

 

Change Areas  

The decontamination site for employees handling pesticides for uses other than 

the commercial or research production of an agricultural plant commodity shall 

be within 100 feet of the mixing/loading site when they are handling pesticides 

with the signal word "DANGER" or "WARNING" on the label.          

           

         3 CCR § 6732       

HEAT ILLNESS 

PREVENTION 

When employees work in hot conditions, employers must take special           

precautions in order to prevent heat illness.  Employers of outdoor workers  

must comply with the Cal/OSHA Heat Illness Prevention (HIP) standard. 

            8 CCR § 3395 

See Department of Industrial Relations for more information  

See http://www.dir.ca.gov/DOSH/HeatIllnessInfo.html  
              

 

1.  Recognize the hazard 4.  Prompt medical attention 

2.  Water. Rest. Shade.  5.  Training 

3.  Acclimatization 6.  Written procedures 

See%20http:/www.dir.ca.gov/DOSH/HeatIllnessInfo.html
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PERSONAL PROTECTIVE 

EQUIPMENT (PPE) 
 

“Label” and the “Law” (Regulation) 

 The pesticide label addresses specific PPE for the Mixer/Loader,                  

the Applicator, and the Early Entry Worker.   

 The employer must provide the employee with the label and regulation        

required PPE.  

 Eye protection is required by regulation, for all “hand applications.”                   

ANSI Z87.1-2010 must be worn. Safety glasses must provide front,               

brow, and temple protection. 

Common eyeglasses, including sunglasses, do not meet this requirement. 

 Protective gloves are required by regulation unless the label states           

otherwise. Gloves must be 14 mils or thicker. New regulations state that      

the label will also address what type of material the gloves shall be               

constructed of.  See glove card below. 

 Employers must assure employees are provided with and use approved         

respiratory protective equipment (RPE) when pesticide product labeling or  

regulations require RPE.  The use of respirators requires a medical evaluation.   

    There are exemptions.  See PSIS N-1 for those exemptions. 

 Owners (employers) who apply pesticides are exempt from worker safety 

regulations; however, you must comply with all label requirements including 

those specifying personal protective equipment (PPE).  

Using “DANGER” and “WARNING” Labeled Pesticides  

 Coveralls must be used when an employee handles a pesticide with the      

signal word “DANGER” or “WARNING” on the label. Exceptions include:       

use of a closed system or working from an enclosed cab or cockpit.  

          3 CCR § 6738, 6739            PSIS N-1  
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EQUIPMENT,  

STORAGE, & DISPOSAL 
Equipment 

The employer must inspect all application equipment and make sure that it    

is in good condition and safe to operate prior to any application. For exam-

ple, mixing tanks must have covers to prevent splashes and spills. Tanks 50     

gallons or greater must be equipped with either a sight gauge to indicate 

the liquid level in the tank, or a shut-off device that will automatically stop 

the   filling operation before the pesticide liquid mixture spills over the top.  

 

Storage  

PPE must be stored separately from pesticides and application equipment to 

prevent contamination. Pesticides must remain locked up when not attended.  

The storage of pesticides must have distinct separation from other stored   

materials. The storage must be posted with warning signs, when the stored 

pesticides have the signal word “DANGER” or “WARNING” on the label.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Disposal Procedures  

Containers of less than 28 gallons must be rinsed and drained at the mix/load 

site. Except for the containers to be returned to the registrant or dealer, follow 

the directions provided in PSIS N-2.  

Do not refill or reuse original containers. Destroy canisters and discard in a     

sanitary landfill.  

Do not put pesticides in containers designated for                             

food, drink, or household products.       
       

         3 CCR § 6600, 6608, 6674, 6684, 6742                      PSIS N-2    

Signs must be visible from any direction 

of  probable approach, and be readable at 

25 feet. The notice shall be repeated in 

an appropriate language other than     

English when it may reasonably be       

anticipated that persons who do not      

understand the English language will come 

to the enclosure.  
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AIR-GAP SEPARATION 
   

All equipment must be equipped with an Air-Gap Separation backflow prevention device 

when handling pesticides and drawing water directly from any outside source. Air-Gap 

Separation is a physical break between the supply line and the receiving vessel.                  

This is the only method that is accepted by all water and health agencies.  

  CCR § 6610, 6630, 6672, 6674, 6678,  6742, 6744 

7

21

3

5

4

6

Backpack type spray equipment with a capacity 

not exceeding 4 gallons and hand-held sprayers 

of 3 gallons or less are exempt. They may be 

filled by hand-holding a hose over the tank. The 

hose or water container must be held well above 

the tank at all times to prevent contact with the 

tank or its contents. 

1.  Air-gap must be at least 1” or twice     

the diameter of the inlet pipe size. 

5.  A pest control operator’s vehicle must be      

identified with company name or PCO number. 

2.  Service container tag with the name     of 

the pesticide(s) and the signal word. 

6.  Tank lid to prevent splashes and spills; it should 

be lockable for DANGER or WARNING pesticides. 

3.  Sight gauge. 7.  Pesticide storage sign required for DANGER or  

WARNING pesticides. 

4.  Pipe permanently attached with clamps to 

the spray tank or the side of the vehicle. 
 



 

 

THIS IS A GENERAL GUIDE.  

 

LAWS AND REGULATIONS ARE  

PERIODICALLY UPDATED.  

 

THERE IS NO SUBSTITUTE FOR KNOWING THE 

LAWS & REGULATIONS THAT GOVERN PESTICIDE USE. 

  

IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS, CONTACT YOUR                        

AREA AGRICULTURAL PESTICIDE INSPECTOR.  

 

 

Sincerely,  

 

Erin Zavala, Deputy Director  

Environmental Protection Bureau 

 

 

 

County of Los Angeles Department of  

Agricultural Commissioner/Weights and Measures 

 Credit given to: 

US EPA: Read the Label logo 
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For more information and updates, you can access these websites: 

 

County of Los Angeles Department of                                      
Agricultural Commissioner/Weights & Measures  

acwm.lacounty.gov 

 

California Department of Pesticide Regulation  

www.cdpr.ca.gov 
 

 

Search for: 

 

Pesticide Safety Information Series (PSIS N-1—N-8) 

http://www.cdpr.ca.gov/docs/whs/psisenglish.htm 

These leaflets include the mandatory N-8, offered in English and Spanish 

http://www.cdpr.ca.gov/docs/whs/psisenglish.htm

