It's the Law!

Failure to comply with California Laws and Regulations pertaining to the selling and reselling of fruits and vegetables may result in confiscation of product and/or fines of up to \$1,000.00 for each violation depending on the severity.



OUR MISSION

"To provide professional services that support and contribute to a safe, abundant, quality food supply; environmentally sound agricultural practices; and an equitable marketplace for California Agriculture."

Please help keep illegally obtained produce out of the marketplace by providing "Proof of Ownership"

You may access and review the laws and regulations that pertain to fruits and vegetables through the web:

http://www.cdfa.ca.gov -> Laws & Regs Tab



CDFA Contact Information

Inspection Services Division
Inspection and Compliance Branch
Standardization Program
1220 N. Street
Sacramento, CA 95814
(916) 900-5030







County Contact Information

County of Los Angeles
Department of
Agricultural Commissioner /
Weights & Measures

Pest Exclusion and Produce Quality 11012 Garfield Ave. South Gate, CA 90280 (562) 622-0426

acwm.lacounty.gov

November 2020



Inspection and Compliance Branch

Standardization Program



Fresh Produce Container Labeling Proof of Ownership

When Transporting and Selling Fruits Nuts and Vegetables at:

- Wholesale Markets
 - Flea Markets •
 - Swap Meets •
 - Roadside Stands •

Proof of Ownership

California Food and Agricultural Code Sections 861-866

25 LBS. OR MORE OF FRUITS, NUTS OR VEGETABLES IN POSSESSION REQUIRES PROOF OF OWNERSHIP

Persons who sell commodities for resale shall provide buyers or transporters a record of Proof of Ownership. Every person buying produce for resale shall obtain from previous buyer a record of Proof of Ownership.

ABC FRUITS & VEGGIES

John Bates

Navel Oranges

1113 Lucky Ave. CA 00000

(987) 654-3210

Thank You

1234 XYZ Street

Anytown, CA 00000 (123) 456-7890

Record Shall Include:

- Name of Seller
- Address of Seller
- Phone # of Seller
- Signature of Seller
- Name of Purchaser
- Address of Purchaser
- Phone # of Purchaser
- Common Name of Commodity
- Quantity Sold
- Date of Transaction

Acceptable Proof

- Bill of Lading
- Bill of Sale
- Certified Producer's Certificate

Proof of Ownership records shall be retained by the buyer and seller for a period of 60 days after delivery

Standard Containers

The Following Commodities have Standard Container Requirements

Apples	Apricots	Artichokes	Avocados
Cabbage	Cantaloupe	Cauliflower	Celery
Cherries	Citrus	Grapes	Lettuce
Melons	Nectarines	Peaches	Plums
Fresh Prunes	Tomatoes		

For a complete listing of the containers and dimensions refer to California Code of Regulations
Title 3. Article 4. Section 1380.19.

The Commodities listed above shall not be packed or placed into Non-Standard Containers including "Banana Boxes" transported to and offered for sale at Swap Meets/Flea Markets or Roadside Stands.



REUSED CONTAINER REQUIREMENTS

Persons reusing containers are required to Obliterate All Inapplicable Markings and replace with appropriate markings; IRQ Responsibility Statement is of the person responsible for placing the reused containers back in the channels of trade

Inapplicable Markings Include:

Old Brands • Trade Marks • Grade Designations Responsibility Statements • Identity Statements Quantity Statements • Variety Statements

Marking Requirements

Identity Statement Responsibility Statement Quantity Statement

Identity: Common Name of Commodity Responsibility: Name & Address including Zip Code Quantity: Net Weight Measure or Count

Abbreviation of Identity is **NOT ALLOWED**

ALL MARKINGS MUST BE LEGIBLE

Some Commodities have Additional Marking Requirements such as Variety or Size Refer to California Code of Regulations Title 3. Article 7 - Article 43

There are some Marking and Container exemptions extended to <u>Producers</u> selling produce at or near the point of production or at a Certified Farmers' Market

Refer to California Food & Agricultural Code Section 47002

THERE ARE NO STANDARD CONTAINER
OR MARKING EXEMPTIONS FOR
PRODUCE BEING TRANSPORTED TO
AND OFFERED FOR SALE OR RESALE
AT ROADSIDE STANDS, SWAP MEETS,
WHOLESALE MARKETS OR FLEA MARKETS

Consumer Containers

Most Commodities

Container Size: 15 Lbs. or less

If weighed at point of sale - does not require IRQ

If sold as a unit - must have IRQ

Refer to California Code of Regulations Title 4. Division 9. Chapter 10. Article 2